We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lansdowne(Hastings)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Hastings)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Victoria Hotel(St Leonards-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
403
16
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstracey annehonesty barhastings old townwalled gardenhomemade biscuitsattention to detailtea and cakeroll top bathlocally sourced ingredientsfabulous place to staywet roombreakfast was deliciousopen firebeautiful housewarm welcomeboutique hotelrooms are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 419 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

As other reviews would suggest, this is a first class B & B, and worth a try if you plan on visiting Hastings.

Greeted warmly and given clear instructions and assistance from the off, including a call the day before to ensure arrival smooth.

Crown Room lived up to it's online representation (which cannot be said for all accommodation!), if is spacious and luxurious. The WC wall paper means that every visit is an education... you'll understand if you stay in the room! A true design "boutique" feel - throughout. Ground coffee and homemade biscuits better than the average "instant" and mass produced equivalent. Beautiful bay window great to sit in and just enjoy the peace. Only complaint about the room is that the TV is virtually impossible to view from the bed - it's too small! and the kettle like wise could be up scaled a tad.

Public areas are very well furnished and again the quality comes through. The garden is great and with the sun shining and drink in your hand you could be anywhere,

Breakfast was excellent, ingredients of excellent quality resulting in great tasting, filling, breakfast. Served until 10am at weekends, it sets you up for the day. Lots and lots of choice and served freshly prepared for you and in good time.

Service throughout was very good, we were made to feel very welcome and given the space we booked this fine house for.

The honesty bar is a nice touch, convenient and not extortionately priced, something for most,

Parking limited so get there early, if you do get on the drive you can leave your key so others can escape if you have blocked in... There wasn't a plethora close by parking available if you don't get on the drive... so plan ahead.

Location of this property is very good, close enough to walk into the old town and the seafront but far enough away to escape what can only be described as a town that has probably seen better days. Old town is nice, bars and restaurants to sample and lots of antique shops to explore... Also close to the country park which is well worth a wander and easily accessible from the house.

Would I visit Hastings again? Probably not... But if I did I know where I would stay, it would be here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMB_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On a rather dreary afternoon it was lovely to be greeted by Mary with home-made cake containing angelica from the garden and a cup of tea. The room was wonderfully comfortable – my husband was even moved to comment on the very fine Egyptian cotton sheets – and we enjoyed having two bathrooms at our disposal, one a wet room with shower and loo, the other an airy wooden-floored room with a big roll-top bath, hand-painted trompe l'oeil panels on the walls and a view over the beautiful garden. There were little vases of fresh flowers in all the rooms and a trio of antique cut-glass bottles in the bathroom containing home-made rosewater, shampoo and body lotion.

We wandered down to the seafront for supper and after a stroll through the old town enjoyed curling up on the big sofas in one of the public rooms with brandy and whisky from the honesty bar. Breakfast the next morning was spectacularly good: freshly squeezed orange juice and an enormous choice of hot and cold dishes that included Greek yoghurt with honey, French toast with maple syrup made from their own bread, poached eggs with hollandaise, grilled cherry tomatoes with basil on toast, and various fishy things as well as sausages, bacon and etc. So far as we could tell, you could have as much as you wanted. We didn't but still had to abandon our plan to go out for lunch as we were much too full.

Our friends snorted when we said we were going for a romantic night away in Hastings but it was wonderful: the Old Rectory is simply lovely and we had fun visiting the two (free) sea front museums the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robina221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lionlinds1, Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review for us.

Kind regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for one night, booking last minute. The house is beautiful, and garden stunning. Our room was lovely and the breakfast delicious. It is generally brilliant. The place and stay can't be faulted, great owner, great house, yummy breakfast. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

You could nt wish for a more beautiful place for a stay. The room was lovely with everything you could wish for , breakfasts are excellent with any special requests (veggie sausages ) met immediately . The garden is a lovely place to while away an afternoon if you don t want to venture any further. We ll definitely be back .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is, as the name states, an old rectory. Hence the rooms are all large and airy, all beautifully decorated in an understated way. The walled garden at the back is a delight. Seating areas are dotted around the garden in the midst of wonderful flower beds.... bluebells, tulips, etc. I could easily spend a day sitting in the garden with a good book! Within easy walking distance are several excellent pubs and restaurants I had a superb meal at Webbe's (see separate review). The welcome was really friendly... a pot of tea and home-made cake whilst checking-in. The bedroom (Ebenezer in my case) was one of the best I've experienced.... loads of space, calmly decorated and strong (free) wi-fi.
Then, this morning, the jewel in the crown... a world-class breakfast made from home-made and/or organic ingredients. I am still drooling at the thought of it... I'll be back as soon as possible!
The Old Rectory is, for me, the making of any visit to Hastings.

Room Tip: My room was really good..... but, apparently, there is an even better one (although I cannot imagine how it could top the "Ebenezer" room).
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews