We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All get-aways should be like this one!”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory
Ranked #3 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All get-aways should be like this one!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Wow, what an amazing stay at The Old Rectory! This is what all B&Bs should be like. Totally beautiful, very calming and considered decor, stunning grounds and a wonderful choice of fresh, homemade, locally sourced breakfast... my first taste of kippers, and doubt they come any better. I was looking for a surprise weekend get-away (minus the two year old!) and couldn't decide where to go. I chose to go to Hastings purely based on the reviews I'd seen on Trip Advisor after stumbling across The Old Rectory website through Google. I certainly wasn't disappointed, and even exceeded my expectations. My 'other half' totally loved it too and made it a really special, much-needed, weekend away. If ever we chose to go to Hastings again, we will definately be staying here!
The owner, Lindsey, and all the staff were extremely friendly, professional and couldn't be more attentive (even if they felt a little jaded on our arrival after winning (the very well deserved) 'Best Newcomer Award' the previous evening (well done guys!)... it really felt very relaxed and like staying with friends. Shame we had to come back to reality, we could've quite happily moved in!

Room Tip: Tackleway room: Amazing shower room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
204
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Unique rooms, amazing service can't better this.
Everything was perfect from start to finish . Great welcome and friendly service from manager Sean and you can't beat this compared to the impersonal feel if the best so-called hotels. Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrox, Spain
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Wonderful venue for a party, a wedding or a weekend away. Our room had the bath in it so we had to remember to close the curtains before using it !! The smoked haddock and kippers for breakfast were truly delicious. The staff were all friendly, helpful and professional. The garden was a delightful place to share a bottle of wine with friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

A very relaxed stylish B&B in the lovely old town of Hastings. We were greeted by one of the owners, Linsey with a pot of tea and delicious homemade shortbread before being shown to our room, which was tastefully decorated and overlooked the gorgeous garden. The attention to detail in the room made the stay feel more akin to a luxury hotel.
Throughout our two night stay all the staff were very friendly and attentive and Sean the manager certainly lived up to " favourite B&B manager" status.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We've just returned from a two-night wedding weekend at the Old Rectory, which was perfect from start to finish. Sean our host was very welcoming and attentive. We stayed in the Cobourg Room which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable, with nice touches such as the glass bottles of toiletries and handmade soap.
The wedding ceremony was held in the garden, the perfect setting, with the bride and groom standing under a gazebo complete with chandelier. The wedding buffet was excellent.
Our breakfasts were delicious, all the ingredients were top quality and locally sourced.
We would definitely recommend the Old Rectory for a luxurious weekend away or as the perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I stayed at The Old Rectory in Old Hastings for three nights in early May 2011. From the start of my stay to the end was a lovely experience. Shaun, the manager, was a very welcoming host and looked after me really well during my stay, as did all the other staff. This was especially nice as I was a solo female visitor. I loved the breakfasts, with a good choice on the menu. My room was excellent, with a view of the lovely garden at the back. The room was large, clean and the decor was beautiful. I had three great sleeps - I think the top quality bedding and linen contributed to this, as well as the peaceful location.

There were plenty of good shops in which to browse and buy near The Old Rectory, and some excellent restaurants nearby to eat in at night. I was also fortunate with the weather and was able to walk around all day and explore Old Hastings, which is really lovely.

I really couldn't find a fault with The Old Rectory. I would highly recommend it, and I'm looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: All of the nine rooms are in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186534Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Beautifully decorated and restored house for a perfect weekend away. Over the May bank holiday we stayed in Tackleway, the smallest room but ideal - cosy and comfortable. Shaun was the perfect host from arrival to departure, by way of evening night-caps and yummy breakfasts. His sculptures pepper the house and fit in perfectly with the tastefully chosen decor. Can't wait to find a way to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanenClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.0 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#1 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 46 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Harold Road, Hastings TN35 5ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Hastings historic old town, our gorgeous contemporary house and beautiful walled garden provides relaxed yet luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation. The Old Rectory was developed out of our desire to provide a truly beautiful and relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy your stay in Hastings. A bed & breakfast for grown-ups, we aim to provide you with a warm welcome, coupled with a thoughtful and friendly service. From the use of fabulous locally sourced produce for our breakfasts, to also providing a venue to showcase the work of local artists and designers, we actively work to promote the best of everything Hastings and hope you will fall in love with it, as we did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing