We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great redundancy get-away”
Review of Jenny Lind Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenny Lind Inn
Ranked #14 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great redundancy get-away”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lovely and helpful staff made us feel most welcome. Me and my botfriend jumped in the car and drove to Hastings after having been made redundant, needed to go somewhere and relax! Great place for a lastminute decision, yummy breakfast across the road :)
I recommend the Old Town for dinner and drinks, Black Pearl was really nice, delicious fish.
We will definitely be back,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
38
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed in a very comfortable double room in this friendly pub located in the old town of Hastings. There's a lovely garden at the back which we enjoyed as the weather this week
has been superb.

The breakfast arrangements are just across the road which was not only delicious but they are very flexible as we dodn't get up until 11am.

Definitely worth a visit if you are going to Hastings

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

A massive THANKS to all the jennylind staff for making us feel so welcome and for making my birthday stay so memorable. Such a lovely place to stay. I will defintly be coming back again soon. Just off the high street and close to the sea and all that Hastings has to offer but very quiet and comfortable especially for an insomniac like me.. I slept like a log in the relaxing room I stayed in.
See you all soon.. :0)

Room Tip: All the rooms that I took a sneaky look at looked Good enough for a comfortable stay and a relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I was a bit wary about staying in the jenny lind after reading the previous review but When we arrived my worries dissolved. The previous reviewer has said that a breakfast wasn't included in their stay. Since then they have introduced a voucher for breakfast that is to be exchanged at a local tea room.
We arrived at 10.30pm after a very long train journey. It was a Friday night and the bar was swinging with the sounds of a live band called Moonshine who were excellent. We quickly checked into our room to discover a large selection of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits and even bottles of water for which we were very grateful. (we stayed for two night and these were topped up by the maid as we had used a few) We rushed back downstairs after a quick change to have a well deserved glass of rose wine before bed. The band finished at around 11.10 and then the bar closed around 12 so all was quiet for a good nights rest.
The bed was very comfy and the shower room had a lovely warm easy to use shower and a lovely modern suite.
When we awoke the next morning, we quickly got ourselves ready and walked 2 minutes down the road to Foyles tea room with our vouchers in hand for our breakfast.
We were greeted by a very friendly family who all ran the tea room together. The place is decorated with war memorabilia and it is very charming. My fiance and I both chose smoked salmon and scrambled egg which was truly delicious and also we had fresh orange juice, toast with marmalade and a very generous pot of tea each.
I would highly recommend this hotel to couples who would like a romantic stress free get away and We will definately be returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The Jenny Lind is a bustling, popular bar on the high street of Hastings old town. There are rooms upstairs from the bar, which seem recently refurbished. We stayed in a double which was quite well equipped for the price level: tea/coffee, tv, hairdryer, bathroom with tub, toiletries. But, unusually for the UK, there was no breakfast provided. This is not a problem as given its central location, there are many other options. Its location has many advantages, you are very close to the beach and to the bars and restaurants on the High St and George St, but it also means it's not the quietest place to stay. We had a lot of noise from the street, other guests and from seagulls!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 47 in Hastings
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#3 of 47 in Hastings
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#26 of 47 in Hastings
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenny Lind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny Lind Inn

Property: Jenny Lind Inn
Address: 69 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing