We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shear Barn Holidays & Touring
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel(Hastings)
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Royal Victoria Hotel(St Leonards-on-Sea)
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Lansdowne(Hastings)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
139
71
41
31
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
71
41
31
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstouring parkcountry parkretreat restaurantswimming poolmotor homefellow camperstoilet and showerlovely siteon site restaurantmay bank holiday weekendwelcome packhastings townwashing machinenature reserveplay areaold townlong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 320 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just got back from a four day break staying in one of their lodges. Had a lovely time, lodge extremely clean & homely with all the amenities (except a bread knife!). Staff very friendly especially the pool staff, good entertainment in the evenings food basic but fine. Was disappointed with Hastings as a place but had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. We really appreciate all feedback as without this we cannot improve our service in the future.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and are sorry that you did not have a bread knife. You do not mention whether you advised reception of this? All our accommodations should have this and reception would have been able to source one for you. In the meantime I have requested that all our accommodation is audited to ensure that it has everything it should have.
Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of your company on one of our parks in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I wanted to stay for 2 week but it was too loud and I left after 7 days.
From early moring until late workers cut the grass all week, cant understand how is that possible at such not Big place ?
Hope its not like this the whole year because id like to come again to hastings its so beatiful

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaroOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, however I am slightly confused.
You mention within your review that you stayed in March 2012 and were booked for 2 weeks. We have had no bookings for either the holiday park in our lodges or on the camping ground for 2 weeks within March. In addition to this, no complaints have been received by reception regarding noise from any other customer and no one has approached us to request a refund for unused time. I am therefore concerned that firstly you have reviewed the correct location and if not why you have not brought it to anyones attention.
With both the camping field and the holiday park we do have a fiarly vast area which requires constant maintenance to keep us to our high standards, however we do not and have never cut grass all day every day. If you were staying in a lodge then we would certainly not be cutting the same area for a week and even in the camping field we would be moving around. We also do not start work early nor continue late.
Should you wish to discuss this further, please send me a private message with your details and I will contact you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We camped here with the children for 4 nights in the summer and was v lucky with the weather (which made it all that more perfect!) The loo's were clean And we enjoyed the country walks around the site. There is a great play area for the children. And lovely swimming pool on site too! We brought our little dog who also enjoyed being with us on our little camp. 1 of the nights though we found we were bombarded with about 10 foxes and 1 badger round our tent- to no fault of our own lol we didn't realise the dog didn't Finnish her dinner. But we can laugh about this (at the end of the day we were out with nature lol) Thoroughly enjoyed our camping experience and are looking to coming bk in the near future! :D

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluewhale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. It is always pleasing to read that our customers have enjoyed their time with us. I hope we have the pleasure of your custom again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights camping in August, access road to site was a bit narrow but was ok. Camping field(non-electric hookup) was lovely, lots of space, you could choose your pitch, although we did see a few people who had 'spread themselves out' and were taking up a ridiculous amount of room. Security would walk around the park all day, facilities were good, lovely warm shower, lots of loo's and very pleasant. The only thing we'd change was the weather that weekend, rain and thunderstorms! Clubhouse was good also, prices ok and food good.

Room Tip: Hedges running the whole way round the field, tended to be nice and sheltered there.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn camping site. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We've just had a weekend break at Shearbarn, and would concur with all the preceding positive reviews. The missus has said several times she wans to return to Hastings - but only if we stay at Shearbarn again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews