We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back Camping holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shear Barn Holidays & Touring
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“laid back Camping holiday”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We camped here with the children for 4 nights in the summer and was v lucky with the weather (which made it all that more perfect!) The loo's were clean And we enjoyed the country walks around the site. There is a great play area for the children. And lovely swimming pool on site too! We brought our little dog who also enjoyed being with us on our little camp. 1 of the nights though we found we were bombarded with about 10 foxes and 1 badger round our tent- to no fault of our own lol we didn't realise the dog didn't Finnish her dinner. But we can laugh about this (at the end of the day we were out with nature lol) Thoroughly enjoyed our camping experience and are looking to coming bk in the near future! :D

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewhale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. It is always pleasing to read that our customers have enjoyed their time with us. I hope we have the pleasure of your custom again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    48
    16
    15
    24
See reviews for
109
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights camping in August, access road to site was a bit narrow but was ok. Camping field(non-electric hookup) was lovely, lots of space, you could choose your pitch, although we did see a few people who had 'spread themselves out' and were taking up a ridiculous amount of room. Security would walk around the park all day, facilities were good, lovely warm shower, lots of loo's and very pleasant. The only thing we'd change was the weather that weekend, rain and thunderstorms! Clubhouse was good also, prices ok and food good.

Room Tip: Hedges running the whole way round the field, tended to be nice and sheltered there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn camping site. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We've just had a weekend break at Shearbarn, and would concur with all the preceding positive reviews. The missus has said several times she wans to return to Hastings - but only if we stay at Shearbarn again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have brought our touring caravan to this site several times over the past few years. It is a favourite of ours and we are never disappointed. It's position in very convenient for Hastings and next to a country park, perfect for walking our dog. The toilet and shower blocks are clean and well maintained. We always enjoy using the clubhouse and find it very relaxing and friendly, with food at very reasonable prices. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshandpoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoy your time with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The location was picturesk, but shower block had hardly any water pressure or heating so had to hike 15 mins to other shower block, some security very rude.
Security guard ripped the zip off our tent and staff did not repair it though one man had a go, the park manager was rude about our tent being destroyed.and offered no compensation and it was a brand new luxery tent.
The family pub was upstairs and over crowded and when you go out to smoke you freeze.
we could not take our dog into bar.
Nothing on site really for children or adults and wi fi disgustingly high in price.Hardly any disabled facilities, half the site has no security cameras and not much lighting.
The shop barely sells anything you need whilst camping.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for leaving your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the campsite. The campsite is run under the same management as Shearbarn Holiday Park, of which you can use the facilities.
I am sorry that you felt the site had hardly any facilities for adults or children. We have an indoor swimming pool, fitness room, outdoor children's play area, indoor soft play for small children, bar and restaurant and consider the facilities we offer as more than adequate for the size of our park. The fact that we are located close to the town centre as well means that the shop only stocks a small selection of goods as there are others available close by.
I am sorry that you gained a bad impression of our staff. You mention that the security guard ripped the zip off your tent? I can only assume that he must have been trying to help you in some way to have done this. We have not received any other complaints about them being rude or unhelpful so I am sorry that you gained this impression.
We do not like to disappoint our customers but it is clear from your review that the site was not to your tastes. I am sorry that this was the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked a Superior Country VIP lodge at Shearbarn through Hoseasons for a week beg June. The lodge was nicely appointed, very clean and comfortable. Two bedrooms, master en-suite shower room and good size main bathroom. We all loved using the hot tub on the spacious decking and although our lodge didn't have a sea view, we were situated next to a wooded area which meant lovely sightings of badgers and foxes most evenings!
Shearbarn Park is one of the best we've stayed at , there is a pool/gym for guests use and we dined in the clubhouse restaurant four nights - the food is typical fare but nicely presented and reasonably priced.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and the park is kept clean and tidy.
It is situated next to a large country park which has good walks and stunning cliff top views.
Hastings seafront is sadly neglected, however there is a lot to see and do in the area and a visit to Battle is a must of course!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank morgaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Shearbarn holiday park. We work very hard to ensure the park is kept to an extremely high standard and it is always pleasing to read good comments from our customers.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Having read previous reviews, we chose a break at this site. It is certainly well maitained and in a lovely location.

The accomodation was a wood style covered caravan. It was clean and spotless for our arrival. Everything we needed apart from no cups - only mugs - and no tea size plates which was strange. We too saw rabbits and foxes on the site. It was a really relaxing location with a view of the sea in the distance. We did pop into the bar/restaurant but only had a quick drink to be nosey. Seemed clean and basic bar meals were being offered. There is a laundry room and a small shop facility. A number of people quite understandably seem to spend great lengths of time there if not all the time that it is open. nlike a large holiday park it appears to be made up of individually owned lodges some of which Hoseasons let as agents.

Although there are quite a few places on the site and they can be overlooked, it was a brilliant place to relax and chill out when we went there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delighted_Client2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. We do appreciate all feedback as it helps to improve our service in the future.
I have passed your comments regarding cups and plates to the head housekeeper as something to consider in all our accommodation.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
584 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
1.7 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 46 in Hastings
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#40 of 46 in Hastings
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millifont Guest House
Millifont Guest House
#41 of 46 in Hastings
91 reviews
3.7 mi away
Combe Haven Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shear Barn Holidays & Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shear Barn Holidays & Touring

Property: Shear Barn Holidays & Touring
Address: Barley Lane, Hastings TN35 5DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning locations are a rare find. So whether its a long weekend, family holiday, relaxation or full of things to do, we have all the ingredients to make it a special stay. Our Lodges & Caravans have something for every taste, from a place to lay your head to a luxury lodge with all the trimmings! If it's Touring or Camping, we have coded access, modern amenity blocks and space for you and your family to enjoy the great outdoors. An indoor heated swimming pool, lovely bar/restaurant and Ecclesbourne fishing reservoir top off the facilities on offer to ensure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Shear Barn Holidays & Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearbarn Holiday Park Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing