We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a very nice hotel to tay in. Me and my wife arrived and the reception desk was very happy and helpful, We booked a twin room and although the room wasa double, it was quickly changed into a twin wiht no fuss.
The rooms are air and spacious with your normal amenities, with a great garden to walk around in the summer days.
the food was great although not enough on the plate.
only small gripes I had was the coffee and tea in the room, all the items were out of date. and in the room the cleaners missed some wrapping paper near the sofa.
the desert for the dinner was a joke TBH, it was a SLICE of ice cream, about 1x2 inches as well

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lickatysplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Lickatysplit

Thank you for your recent post, we’re delighted to read that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. However, please accept our apologies for the shortfalls in housekeeping standards in your bedroom.

I’m also sorry to read that the peanut butter parfait was not to your liking - doesn’t currently feature on our dinner menu at the moment, but it will be back; when chef will review the dishes balance of flavours.

Looking forward to having you back.

Kindest regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for Bannatyne Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 826 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

I agree with other recent reviews - the hotel is lovely, everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The staff are very helpful, rooms great and the food was amazing!
We had 3 rooms - 6 girlfriends on a spa break. The spa part of the break was a little disappointing though - definitely more of a health/leisure centre than a spa! There was a lack of seating available to relax around the pool - we dragged the seats in from outside or we would have had to sit on the floor! The only other place to sit was in the cafe - not great when you're wearing wet costumes! The health centre/spa certainly wasn't the same standard as the hotel - nowhere near as luxurious! The most frustrating part of the whole stay was though - NO mobile phone signal in the hotel! It's the 21st century for goodness sake - sort it out!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have only a shower whereas other have a shower over a bath - personal preference
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzypuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Suzypuzy

Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to read that not every element of your stay met your expectations on this visit. The Spa is attached to the Hastings Bannatyne club within the estate, enabling us to offer additional facilities to our residents; extensive leisure area, specialist classes and state of the art gym equipment.

We will continue to monitor mobile phone coverage feedback and I have passed on your praise to the chef and the rest of the brigade at the hotel.

Hope to have you all back again soon?

Kindest regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being a regular customer of Bannatynes Hastings, I have no issues with regard to the actual stay and accommodation. However, it is frustrating when trying to contact them by telephone the call goes unanswered on a regular basis for in excess of 5 minutes, where are then treated to music and a message saying the line is busy and we are being transferred to the operator, only to hear the same music and message several more times! Quite frustrating when we all have busy lives! Please find a solution to this problem Mr Bannatyne!

Room Tip: Pick a rear facing room, to benefit from the views of the gardens
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Andrea F

Thank you for your post, and apologies for your frustrations when trying to get through to us. We are working to improve our telephone coverage, however please feel free to e-mail any enquires to us on enquires.hastingshotel@bannatyne.co.uk or events.hastinsghotel@bannatyne.co.uk.

Hope to see you at our Christmas party nights again this year?

Kindest regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for a quick overnight break & to enjoy the Spa facilities. The Hotel is lovely. The staff are polite, friendly & kind. Everything is clean & well presented. The food is very good & I would highly recommend at booking you include dinner. It is well worth it. The Spa is lovely. The treatments are really good. The pool is more 'health club' orientated. And it is not attached to the Hotel. But is only a short stroll. This is in the detail but may be missed. There is no downside to this Hotel. I think we all look on trip advisor as we worry about all we will find. There is nothing to worry about here. A simply lovely Hotel. Thanks to staff & managemant.

Room Tip: Book a dinner bed & breakfast package
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Joanne H

Thank you for your very complimentary review. It was a delight to read and I will ensure your feedback is passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon?

Kind regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Luxurious feel to the room – good quality toiletries and very comfortable bed.
Landscape garden was quite exceptional and we enjoyed a nice walk after breakfast. Look out for the stone men – an interesting feature.
Leisure was very good – I think it’s a popular ‘membership’ club for people. You do have to leave the hotel and take a short walk to the Spa. Not too problematic but useful to know about in advance. The steam room and sauna were very clean and a good temperature. I felt the changing room floor could have been a little cleaner and would have felt more comfortable with flip flops on rather than walking in bare feet.

We didn’t have an evening meal in the hotel but the restaurant looked lovely and the bar area offered a relaxed setting to enjoy an evening or afternoon drink. Breakfast was good although the range of fruit appeared a little limited. We did enjoy a delicious ‘made to order’ haddock and egg.

Enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely consider booking again if we were looking for somewhere to stay in the area or wanted to have a special romantic break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear RHM Sterling

Many thanks for your recent review, delighted to hear that your enjoyed your 'romantic escape'.

Your points regarding fruit selection and poolside are duly noted. We very much hope to have you back sometime soon to enable you to enjoy a dining experience in our restaurant.

Kind regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Booking this hotel as a couples get away, travellers will not be disappointed. Due to the location you need a car or taxi to get into Hastings itself or to Battle which is approximately a mile away. This means that you feel completely secluded and away from it all.
The hotel is set in lovely grounds with tennis courts, a riding school and a pitch and putt golf course for extra charge.
The hotel itself is a little drab and the carpets are well worn however the reception staff were attentive and helpful. A little miffed at the £3.50 'trade charge' to order anything from room service, some of the cheaper items on the menu cost less than that.

It is a short 2 minute walk from the hotel itself to the spa and gym facilities which are in a separate building, a little annoying if it is raining. If you are using the gym, you won't be disappointed with the equipment it is all modern and your stay even allows you to attend the classes being run. It has a 20m swimming pool, outdoor jacuzzi, large indoor jacuzzi and a sauna and steam room.
You are sharing these facilities with Bannatyne gym membership holders.

Although booked as a spa break we were unable to use the facilities as it was fully booked on the dates we travelled which was frustrating but did not ruin our stay.

We stayed for dinner at the hotel and are glad we did, the food was beautiful. 2 or 3 courses for a set price (about £26.95 for 3) and everything was cooked beautifully and presented as you would expect from a high class restaurant.

We upgraded to an executive room which was incredibly spacious both for the sleeping quarters and the bathroom, with 'his and hers' basins. The shower was powerful and the room spotlessly clean. A wedding party was staying at the hotel during our one night stay, but we did not hear a thing from our room. The bed was most comfortable.
Our room had tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and board, safe and hairdryer.
The hotel also has free Wifi access.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and will return if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room for more spacious sleeping quarters. Book spa treatments early to avoid...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Emma N

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and your particular feedback regarding the food, gym facilities and your executive bedroom is greatly appreciated.

We have an on going maintenance programme in place and confident that your see some improvements to our public areas upon your return visit?

Kind regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We popped in for a drink here a month or so ago. We were not dissapointed with the choice or drinks in the bar or the cost which is reasonable. There were a few issues which we would like to bring to the managers attention - the TV in the bar was very loud and the cables were hanging the back which is most unattractive to look at, also all of the tables were sticky from other drinks and the supposedly once electric green chairs had gone more of a grey colour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dell470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear dell470

Thank you for your recent review, I'm pleased you enjoyed our extensive product range in the bar. We will continue to monitor the TV volume, in addition we have just began a table refurbishment of all our tables in the bar area.

Look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
3.0 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
3.0 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
859 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel

Address: Battle Road, Hastings TN38 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $118 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Spa Hotel Hastings. All 38 rooms are en-suite and many overlook the colourful formal gardens. Every guest enjoys complimentary access to Bannatyne's Health Club and all rooms have free WiFi internet access. The Bannatyne Spa is ideal for bringing that little extra to your stay or relaxing after a hard day at the office. Our team will help you escape, rejuvenate and harmonise body and soul, to cleanse you of everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bannatyne Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne Hotel Hastings
Bannatyne Spa Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing