We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Luxurious feel to the room – good quality toiletries and very comfortable bed.
Landscape garden was quite exceptional and we enjoyed a nice walk after breakfast. Look out for the stone men – an interesting feature.
Leisure was very good – I think it’s a popular ‘membership’ club for people. You do have to leave the hotel and take a short walk to the Spa. Not too problematic but useful to know about in advance. The steam room and sauna were very clean and a good temperature. I felt the changing room floor could have been a little cleaner and would have felt more comfortable with flip flops on rather than walking in bare feet.

We didn’t have an evening meal in the hotel but the restaurant looked lovely and the bar area offered a relaxed setting to enjoy an evening or afternoon drink. Breakfast was good although the range of fruit appeared a little limited. We did enjoy a delicious ‘made to order’ haddock and egg.

Enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely consider booking again if we were looking for somewhere to stay in the area or wanted to have a special romantic break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear RHM Sterling

Many thanks for your recent review, delighted to hear that your enjoyed your 'romantic escape'.

Your points regarding fruit selection and poolside are duly noted. We very much hope to have you back sometime soon to enable you to enjoy a dining experience in our restaurant.

Kind regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 833 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Booking this hotel as a couples get away, travellers will not be disappointed. Due to the location you need a car or taxi to get into Hastings itself or to Battle which is approximately a mile away. This means that you feel completely secluded and away from it all.
The hotel is set in lovely grounds with tennis courts, a riding school and a pitch and putt golf course for extra charge.
The hotel itself is a little drab and the carpets are well worn however the reception staff were attentive and helpful. A little miffed at the £3.50 'trade charge' to order anything from room service, some of the cheaper items on the menu cost less than that.

It is a short 2 minute walk from the hotel itself to the spa and gym facilities which are in a separate building, a little annoying if it is raining. If you are using the gym, you won't be disappointed with the equipment it is all modern and your stay even allows you to attend the classes being run. It has a 20m swimming pool, outdoor jacuzzi, large indoor jacuzzi and a sauna and steam room.
You are sharing these facilities with Bannatyne gym membership holders.

Although booked as a spa break we were unable to use the facilities as it was fully booked on the dates we travelled which was frustrating but did not ruin our stay.

We stayed for dinner at the hotel and are glad we did, the food was beautiful. 2 or 3 courses for a set price (about £26.95 for 3) and everything was cooked beautifully and presented as you would expect from a high class restaurant.

We upgraded to an executive room which was incredibly spacious both for the sleeping quarters and the bathroom, with 'his and hers' basins. The shower was powerful and the room spotlessly clean. A wedding party was staying at the hotel during our one night stay, but we did not hear a thing from our room. The bed was most comfortable.
Our room had tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and board, safe and hairdryer.
The hotel also has free Wifi access.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and will return if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room for more spacious sleeping quarters. Book spa treatments early to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Emma N

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and your particular feedback regarding the food, gym facilities and your executive bedroom is greatly appreciated.

We have an on going maintenance programme in place and confident that your see some improvements to our public areas upon your return visit?

Kind regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We popped in for a drink here a month or so ago. We were not dissapointed with the choice or drinks in the bar or the cost which is reasonable. There were a few issues which we would like to bring to the managers attention - the TV in the bar was very loud and the cables were hanging the back which is most unattractive to look at, also all of the tables were sticky from other drinks and the supposedly once electric green chairs had gone more of a grey colour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dell470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear dell470

Thank you for your recent review, I'm pleased you enjoyed our extensive product range in the bar. We will continue to monitor the TV volume, in addition we have just began a table refurbishment of all our tables in the bar area.

Look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked a spa weekend here through Secret Escapes. It was our first ever spa weekend.
The hotel was fabulous. We were checked in very quickly and our bags were taken up to the room for us whilst we had lunch. [Thank you to the manager for this!]
The room was much bigger than we expected. The bed was extremely comfy and we both had a brilliant night sleep. The bathroom was also very large.
The only tiny niggle that we had with the room was that the tv kept flickering, which made my boyfriend quite irritable [not what you want on a relaxing break!]

We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was really tasty and plenty of different foods to choose from. The lunch was brilliant. Strongly recommend the spinach and ricotta pasta.
However dinner was certainly by far the best meal. The fillet steak was cooked to perfection and was definitely the best steak i've ever eaten. Throughly enjoyed the meal and the waiting staff for all 3 meals were very efficient and friendly. Prices were very reasonable as well.
We had a few drinks in the terrace bar which was nice and looked out over the gardens. We also managed to sit out in the garden for a little while [was still a bit too cold] and the chair/beds that are in the garden are a really lovely idea.

With our package we were entitled to a back/neck/shoulder massage at the spa.
The spa is located a short walk away from the hotel, unfortunately through a car park which we hadnt expected. I didnt particualrly like the idea of walking thorugh the car park in my dressing gown!
The spa itself was really nice. Smaller than imagined but the staff were lovely and showed us around the different parts.
The massage was good. they took into account the fact i have a dodgy shoulder so were careful with that. The swimming pool/sauna/jacuzzi in the spa were all really good.
It wasnt too busy so it felt very relaxed and chilled out.

Overall, we had a fabulous weekend away and would definitely return to the hotel, but probably give the spa a miss.

Room Tip: We had room 38 which overlooked the front of the hotel. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Jess88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear 19Jess88

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your time with us, and that we are able to cater for your specific requirements during your treatments.

Our apologies for the faulty television, this has been resolved so room 38 can be visited again by you sometime soon?

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Regards
Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and the spa and gym seem nice. The building and surrounding grounds are peaceful and gorgeous. When you step inside -the hotel lets you down as soon as you climb the steps. The bed was so uncomfortable, the bathroom was a bit moldy in the corner, The bedding feels cheap. I am only outlining these details because Bannatyne has really let guests down by not caring to pay attention to comfort details. They clearly cut corners and that is NOT what this hotel looks like it will deliver as you arrive. Such a shame as I really expected more. I did have a fabulous time because I was with friends, and my dogs were welcome!

Room Tip: Beds are really uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mle_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear mle_webb

Many thanks for your recent review and I am delighted to hear that you had a fabulous time with friends despite the issues which you have raised.

I would have welcomed the opportunity to speak with you during your stay and had we been given the opportunity, perhaps could have arranged a room move. Unfortunately, I was not aware of any problems until after your departure.

I do hope you get the opportunity to return to us in the future.

Kind regards

Mark O'Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have always found banatynes to be very good considering the amount of clientele the therapists have to treat every day some of whom are very rude, demanding a harder pressure is fine but the therapist can only be as firm as she can when in fact the pressure should not be really firm if you would like anything firmer you need to book in for a SPORTS MASSAGE not A SWEDISH MASSAGE as advertised in a lot of the cheap spa breaks you get at banatynes. I think clients should be less concerned with demanding things and more interested in enjoying their cheap spa day and RELAXING not snapping at the therapists.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank leopardprint9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked a spa weekend away for my long suffering wife and myself for a weekend of pampering and indulgence.
We booked the accomodation online with a view to enjoying the spa facilities and treatments upon arrival.
At check in on fri afternoon we ventured over to the health club and spa, only to be told that all treatments were fully booked on saturday and just managed to book a single treatment for the wife on sunday morning . . .
I attempted to book a mens treatment at the same time, only to be told that the wife had booked the only slot available.
As much as i appreciate that such a popular place would be busy, at the time of booking " a spa hotel weekend" i would have appreciated some advanced warning about the need to pre book any spa treatments.
Anyway, treatment time arrives, Mrs F pops across for her hour of spoiling . . . . to be told that whoever made the booking must have double booked.
No treatment available. . She was very very disappointed.
We have been fortunate enough to visit various other "Spa hotels "across Europe and have always enjoyed the experience and facilities, hence the Bannatyne Spa booking.
The hotel was beautiful, the room was excellent, as was the food. Staff were great, very friendly and attentive.It's a terrible shame that we had expected a spa weekend and not just a hotel stay.
This place should be advertised as a hotel with a neighbouring spa and certainly not a spa hotel.
Not Happy, Not returning and not recommending.
Pat & Denise Foley.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is beautiful. . Go on . . . . Indulge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Pat F

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your hotel stay but am sorry to hear of the issues rergarding booking spa treatments.

To avoid disappointment, it is recomended that spa treatments are booked in advance. It is our policy to advise guests of this when booking and please accept my apologies if this advise was not relayed to you at the time of booking. I have passed your comments regarding the treatment double booking to the health club general manager and she asked me to convey her apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I am delighted that you found the hotel staff to be great, friendly and attentive and that the food and room were both excellent.

It is a shame that you would not consider returning, however if you decided to do so, I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind rergards

Mark O'Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
3.0 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
3.0 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
615 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel

Address: Battle Road, Hastings TN38 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $113 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Spa Hotel Hastings. All 38 rooms are en-suite and many overlook the colourful formal gardens. Every guest enjoys complimentary access to Bannatyne's Health Club and all rooms have free WiFi internet access. The Bannatyne Spa is ideal for bringing that little extra to your stay or relaxing after a hard day at the office. Our team will help you escape, rejuvenate and harmonise body and soul, to cleanse you of everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bannatyne Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne Hotel Hastings
Bannatyne Spa Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing