We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food lovely service”
Review of First In Last Out

First In Last Out
Ranked #23 of 379 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional English pub, brewing our own beer and serving good fresh food, cooked from scratch.
luton
2 reviews
“Great food lovely service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a lovely find as recommended in the Good Pub Guide. The food was served between 12 & 2.30pm and had a handful ofchoices & was delicious. My fiance is into real ale they had a very good selection of 4 pumps from the FILO brewery. One money making trick I think they are missing is being able to buy in small quantites 1L/2L to take away like other breweries but you could only buy in 32 pints. Shame we would of purchased a few litres. Great pub well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taraels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    55
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and the finest real ale and ciders!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was holidaying in Hastings and came across this fine establishment. At night, they have live music on but during the daytime they serve an excellent lunch. One the days I had wonderfully fresh fish cakes which came with new potatoes, coleslaw and tartare sauce. They also have a brewery delivering to the pub from just down the road. They had four of the fine ales they brew themselves, my favourite two being the Crofters and Churches. There are also some fine ciders available too with my recommendation being Addlestones - absolutely wonderful Somerset cider. Great atmosphere to be had here always.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“spicy food at last from The Filo”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

popped in for a half of bitter (home brewed) at this popular pub. Great news - they are cooking Spanish TAPAS. All the favourites - patatas bravas - chorizo, gambas all around £3.50 a dish,

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wreford-channelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent pub”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Decent pub with home brewed ales and good food ( tapas ) - reasonably priced ( less than 15 pounds for a pint of ale, battered haddock, stuffed peppers, patatas bravas and some bread ).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vagrantpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eating Experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great food, great place, great service and ambiance. Would certainly visit again soon. Would love to trake friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First In Last Out also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to First In Last Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing