We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine accommodation in a beautiful location”
Review of Gallery 53

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gallery 53
Ranked #22 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend break at this stylish B&B. Jane and David made us feel extremely welcome - nothing too much trouble. Delicious breakfast served in the privacy of our own room was an absolute bonus. The historic Old Town was a delight to explore and the beach is within a stone's throw.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Love this place, lost count of how many times have stayed here. Perfect place to stay right in the heart of Hastings old town. Great hosts, very comfortable rooms, and a yummy breakfast which is served in your room. Can't wait to come back to our second home, next year.

Becky and mark

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charltonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is our second stay at Gallery 53 and we certainly intend on returning again. Jane and Dave are great hosts. Warm, welcoming and friendly. The room we had was clean and cozy with a fab en suite bathroom. Delicious breakfast served in the room too. The B&B is perfectly situated for site seeing, shopping and an array of restaurants. Really great value for money. Thanks Jane and Dave. See you again.x

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A lovely luxurious stay. Wonderful hosts, great location, comfortable bed, luxury bathroom and delicious breakfast served in the room!

Excellent value for money and comes highly recommended for anyone looking for a picturesque escape from the rigours of the working week!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaBending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of finding this absolutely delightful B&B run by two artists above their gallery. Dave and Jane are very warm and welcoming people and the room was very comfortable (especially the bed). The furnishings are lovely and the room we stayed in looked onto a garden and church right in the heart of the Old Town. Restaurants and beach are close by, and it's a very short walk to get into the new town (although we fell in love with the Old Town). The breakfast was delicious and served in our room at a time of our choosing which was lovely as we didn't feel we had to rush. So overall a perfect experience and I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed overnight at the gallery. I booked over the phone a few days before, no upfront deposit or card details taken. I received a call on our arrival date to check we were still coming.
The room was pleasant but the ensuite had very little privacy as the door to it has frosted glass.
The bed was comfortable but our hosts had friends over and were chatting loudly over some wine in their living room on the same floor until 12pm. We were then woken by seagulls in the very early hours, not something that anything could be done about but don't expect to be able to avoid it - reading the guest book in our room this seems like a common recurrence some find quaint and some not. I was firmly in the latter category.
Breakfast was nice and served to you in your room at 8am due to a lack of dining space in the rest of the home.

This was our first trip to Hastings and I asked for a decent place for us to find oysters, our host wasn't able to direct us to anywhere other than a seafood restaurant we had walked past on the way up. We were given keys to the front door and could come and go as we pleased.

Overall an average B&B which imo doesn't seem to be the main business focus for the owners.

Room Tip: Our room was the one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James_T127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Gallery 53, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hello, I was really sad to discover that you were less than happy with your stay, if you had mentioned any problems whilst you were with us we would have been happy to discuss a happy outcome for you with a reduction as no guest should leave unhappy in any way, we aim to give everybody a perfect stay, my family were visiting that weekend and I apologise for the sound travelling. I am usually very sensitive to noise I may have thought you were still out for the evening.
I hope this response goes some way to smoothing over any downside to your view of our B&B, and if you would like to come again I would be happy to offer a discounted price.
Regards Jane Edmonds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If anybody wants a perfect stay in the old part of Hastings. Then Gallery 53 is the place to stay. The price is well worth the stay, and the breakfast is even better and you have a choice of what you fancy. Jane & David are perfect hosts and they make you really feel welcome as does George the Cat. You are not too far from the main attractions of Hastings and there are plenty of places to eat & drink. Myself and my family are already looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: Jane & David are always there to help with any queries that you may have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#10 of 47 in Hastings
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jolly Fisherman
The Jolly Fisherman
#24 of 47 in Hastings
41 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#3 of 47 in Hastings
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery 53

Address: 53 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: $70 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery 53 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Art Gallery and Bed & Breakfast. I have just 2 rooms and they are both comfortable and allow our guests to completely relax with breakfast times flexible and breakfast served in the room for maximum relaxation.We have one room which is suitable for a family with a medium size sofa bed in the room, the other is a standard double and has the benefit of an en-suite bathroom.We are a family of artists with regularly four of us showing our work at all times, with styles ranging from oil paintings of rural and street scenes to a good size range of imaginative abstracts in oil and acrylic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing