We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Third Visit - always Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix Guest House
Ranked #12 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Our Third Visit - always Excellent.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Victoria and Ed are the best of Hosts. Very welcoming and always ready with local advice if you need it, but hands-off enough that you always feel your privacy is respected. This was our third vist in four years. There has been a superb and very classy re-fit since our last visit. The Phoenix is easy walking distance from the lovely town and stoney beach. Parking is easy and covenient. the fresh fish in Hastings is unrivalled. Watch the fishermen land their catch, then buy it directly from them at half the price you would pay your local fishmonger! We took a cool box especially for this. A really lovely two night break for our seventh wedding anniversary. Thanks again, we will see you again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
77
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We phoned ahead to confirm our time of arrival. We received a very pleasant and warm welcome. We were offered a choice of rooms. Our hosts took pleasure in showing us our room and explaining where everything was. It was a pleasure to meet people who actually give a damn about their guests. We chose room eight on the ground floor facing the street. which proved to be an excellent choice. Despite being on the road it was very quiet. In fact we overslept on the first night. The room had apparently been recently decorated to a high standard and some thought had obviously been put into the layout and furnishings.. Very adequate hanging space, hangers and drawer space plus an Ottoman for our bulky gear which is a first in our experience. The en-suite was first class with a decent power shower and hooks to hang your stuff on the door which believe it or not seem to be going out of fashion in many hotels. The only nit to pick was a glass shelf above the wash basin which got in the way when rinsing your teeth or splashing your face after shaving. We have been coming to Hastings for fifteen years for the Jack in the Green. We have never felt tempted to stay at the same hotel/guest house a second time. We think the Phoenix is what we have been looking for. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dronkvaett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed for one night at the end of March 2012. Greeted by friendly owner who took time to give directions for different parts of the town.

Room really lovely and very clean, modern with HUGE tv and comfy bed. Although we had the room by the street on the ground floor we were not bothered at all by any noise. Parking was nearby (+free) and location was great.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nwyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed one night with my husband. Room was clean and cosy and had small en suite bathroom with shower. Owners friendly and able to offer suggestions of places to eat nearby. Wouldn't recommend for romantic night away but value for money if staying for a night or too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchy-feet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lovely stay at the Phoenix Guest House! Was very impressed with the overall presentation and cleanliness. A real warmth to the place with very down-to-earth, friendly, owners! So glad to have found this hidden gem in Hastings!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Very helpful, friendly owners. Everything in rooms new and in great condition. Easy to get to and dog friendly too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Friendly and accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Good location, clean, contemporary decoration and really friendly welcome. I would recommend this place to anyone. And we'll be staying there again next time we visit Hastings!

Room Tip: Maybe not the one closest to the street, because they'll be one or two intoxicated members of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyHiker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.0 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 49 in Hastings
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 49 in Hastings
801 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#19 of 49 in Hastings
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#10 of 49 in Hastings
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Guest House

Property: Phoenix Guest House
Address: 41 Cambridge Gardens, Hastings TN34 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and affordable guest house located in the heart of Hastings, less than 10 minutes walk from seafront, station and town centre and less than a 15 minute walk from the Old Town. All rooms have ensuite shower/wc, free high speed WiFi, free overnight parking, 20 litre room fridge, refreshment tray, hairdryer and ironing equipment. All rooms are offered on a room only rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing