We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B&B look no further”
Review of Tower House 1066

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tower House 1066
Ranked #32 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top B&B look no further”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

we stayed here on the 7th & 8th June. What a lovely clean B&B It couldn't be faulted. The room was lovely.The bed was quite firm but was very comfy.My back was playing up a bit and the bed did it good.
There was a very nice garden to roam round if you wished and a conservatory you could sit in if you didn't want to stay in your room.
The breakfast was superb and if what they gave you wasn't enough(plenty for me) you could have more if you wished. Plenty of warm toast was on offer.
True there were no bath robes in the rooms but you could have them if you asked.
If you decide you don't want to eat out you can order a take away and they will set up a table in the breakfast area for you.There are several takeaway menus in the reception area.You could get it delivered!
Top notch B&B .I would definitely stay again if i was in Hastings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    32
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
19
61
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Don't believe what you read on the web site, we stayed in a superior room but not a bathrobe or bottle of water in sight. The owner was not available when we arrived but we were taken to our room by a very pleasant girl who gave us a breakfast time different to the information in the room, I texted the mobile number left on the empty reception desk that evening ( supposedly 24 hour) to find out the correct time but did not receive a reply until late the following afternoon. It is in fact 8-9 which is quite early when you're away. Although the room was pleasant, with a very comfortable bed, it was dirty, particularly the bathroom with a broken, lifted floor tile just where your feet go when using the toilet. The latch on the bedroom sash window was literally encased in cobwebs.
The hospitality tray contained a packet of 2 biscuits (between 2 of us)
On the 2nd morning, as I was only having a couple of items for breakfast, I asked for 2 rashers of bacon, but still only got one. £7.50 is poor value for one egg and one rasher of bacon
We finally met the owner when we were checking out. She did, at that point, ask if everything was ok, which she should have made a point of doing sooner. When I told her there were a couple of things I wasn't happy with she did not care to ask what they were. We had left it too late to book for nearby Rye, so booked this as a last resort, but expected more for the money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

A very efficiently and well run B&B by Louise and her polite staff. Clean & comfortable rooms (especially the beds) and all the basics in the bathrooms. The only downside during our stay were the extremely annoying & inconsiderate Chinese guests who evidently thought it ok to move between their respective rooms, banging doors and talking loudly outside one of our rooms at 6 in the morning!
One small suggestion: the breakfast cereals would look more appealing in containers or dishes rather than the row of rather tatty boxes on the sideboard. That said, everything else about breakfast was very good, with some well-cooked options and plenty of tea & coffee.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annunciatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

On arrival, we were greeted by the owner who was extremely friendly and helpful. She showed us everything we needed to know about and then to our room, which was a really good size and well appointed with plenty of storage space, a good sized en-suite, a nice, comfy bed and a sofa. The room was clean, cosy and quiet and we both had a fantastic nights sleep. We didn't have breakfast as we were meeting our daughter, but the owner did offer the option of her eating with us at the hotel.

The only downside to the stay was the parking: As it's a residential area, I was very conscious of parking outside someone else's house and, unfortunately, that was the only option. It's also a little way out from St. Leonards - not an issue for us, but something to consider for anyone who wants something closer to town.

It's comfortable, clean, friendly and generally a very pleasant place to stay, and at an extremely reasonable price indeed - and if you get a reduced rate for the room for your stay, you shouldn't even consider looking anywhere else. I expect we'll be back here next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the road are not noisy, so don't shy away from them. The large double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TH1066, Owner at Tower House 1066, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for such a great review and for staying at TH1066.The parking is very rarely a problem and I only get neighbours complain to me when guests have occasionally parked in front of there drive ways.
Many thanks once again

Best wishes
Louise
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the warm welcome to the breakfast the next day we thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Tower House 1066, the road is relatively quiet, the bed was cosy, the sheets astonishingly white!!! Would recommend this place at any time, to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 1, lovely cosy tester bed, tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondoner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TH1066, Owner at Tower House 1066, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review . I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at TH1066.

Best wishes
Louise
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a lovely 2 day stay in room 11, with my son. Gorgeous room, every facility in the room you would need. Very relaxed atmosphere, good facilities. Louise was lovely and very helpful. Will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TH1066, Owner at Tower House 1066, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you thank you for your comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed the home from home feeling you received from Tower House 1066.

Best wishes
Louise
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really helpful staff, cosy and just the right side of old fashioned. Honesty bar and veggie cooked breakfast were really nice touches. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean.Recommended for visiting Hastings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieDalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TH1066, Owner at Tower House 1066, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest
I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and with such lovely comments thank you very much.
best wishes
Louise
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 47 in Hastings
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#41 of 47 in Hastings
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Millifont Guest House
Millifont Guest House
#40 of 47 in Hastings
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#26 of 47 in Hastings
166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House 1066? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House 1066

Property: Tower House 1066
Address: 28 Tower Rd West, Hastings TN38 ORG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower House 1066 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower House 1066: when you need to escape your battles. Tower House 1066 provides elegant guest accommodation in St Leonards on sea. We provide a personalized service to make your stay a real home away from home, while giving you the privacy you need to unwind. Bask in the evening sun on the garden terrace or sit in our handmade gazebo in the shade. Sip a drink in our licensed bar, or simply retreat to your comfortable, welcoming bedroom of our St Leonards guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tower House 1066 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing