We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rutland Guest House
Ranked #19 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having not stayed in a Guest House for many years and having had previous bad experiences, I was a little apprehensive at first. The owners are lovely and really try to please. The rooms were cleaned every day and had everything you needed for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was hot and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this as a great place to stay, we liked the fact that it was away from the hustle and bustle of Hastings which is a good thirty minute walk away. The only downside to the establishment was the lack of a public lounge and plastic cups in the bathroom, glasses are much better. However, the real friendliness of the hosts was the key here. Many thanks to them both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiregillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
22
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed in this property for 2 nights. All I can say is that everything is perfect! Great hosts, great location, great view and a spotlessly clean property. Very happy we found this place! Great work Raymond and Carol.

Room Tip: Lovely view from the street side over the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFerguson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely guest house, highly recommend. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice.
Parking was no problem, lots of parking opposite the guest house. Rooms were very clean and tidy, bathroom exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you enjoy having a pebble beach one block away and a park right across the street, the Rutland Guest House is for you. The town of St. Leonards-on-Sea is a continuation of Hastings in a westerly direction. The single room I occupied and the entire house looked as if it had just been repainted. It was very clean and tastefully furnished.

I asked for a quiet room and received one at the back of the property. The house consists of 3 floors and faces the English Channel, just one block from the ocean, across the park. When I walked to the beach, there were lots of benches to choose from; one man was fishing; couples were resting on the pebbles; kids were throwing rocks into the water; lots of people were walking their dogs along the promenade. I enjoyed the bench just outside the front door to the guest house, as well. The "Bo Peep" pub was just a few doors down. The only thing I found lacking was an indoor lounge.

The single room was nice-sized, with a lounge chair, a sink, chest of drawers, with tea or coffee making supplies, a small closet, and a flat-panel TV and remote. This single room and the one next to it shared a large bathroom, nicely painted, with shower.

I had nice hot breakfasts, with eggs of my choice, bacon, beans, tomatoes, and toast with marmalade. The hosts were friendly and talkative. It was nice, as well, to be called by name.

Though there was no designated place to park, one could park along the street wherever a place could be found. I was fortunate to locate a place about a half block away the first time, and about 3/4 block away the second time. I asked about taking a bus to "Old Hastings," a couple of miles away straight along the coast. I was told that a bus stop was located nearby, and one bus change was necessary to reach "Old Hastings." Unfortunately, I did not have time to go there, but did drive to the interesting town of Rye. approximately 12 miles away to the east. Rye is a nice size to cover, walking leisurely for a day or less.

Room Tip: Doubles, twins, and singles are available; some rooms share a bathroom; some are ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The bed was a bit hard; the room was a bit cold (heater was on but it didn't seem to be effective); it wasn't clear how to work the shower (though the owner was very quick to explain once I'd grabbed him in the breakfast room - tug on the cord first); the price was perhaps a little high for the room; the back-garden looked rather tired; and a double-bed room with an extra bed on the side looks a little slapdash. That said, the room had been given some attention -- with attractive sheets and pictures on the wall -- breakfast was generous, and the service was polite and friendly. Location on a sunny day is perfect, as we walked for half an hour to Hastings and enjoyed every minute along the boardwalk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biglondontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed for a night and was only allowed to check in at 4pm! This was tiring as I found that travelling 2 1/2 hours all I wanted was to put my bag down and relax until I could meet up with friends at 7pm for a birthday evening. They advertise off street parking ... this is not the case ... it is street parking and if you are lucky you will find a parking place somewhere along the expanse of the beach road! Rooms are lovely although small .. bed was comfortable. The owner was very pleasant but I found the welcome I got from the lady in charge (his wife?) was far from warm and friendly. Breakfast was enjoyable - I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if the rooms are en suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Excellent value for such a clean, well run place in a great location. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the room was spotless. We could see the sea from our room and Hastings was easily reached on foot or by bus/train. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing stay by the seaside.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
832 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#41 of 47 in Hastings
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 47 in Hastings
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Guest House

Property: Rutland Guest House
Address: 17 Grosvenor Crescent, Hastings TN38 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rutland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing