We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, but no cigar yet”
Review of The Black Lion Harvester - CLOSED

The Black Lion Harvester
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At The Black Lion Harvester in Brighton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like. If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Brighton, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Patcham, Withdean and Hollingbury, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests and plenty to keep them entertained!
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As mother-in-law lives in Patcham, we have had several opportunities to dine at the Black Lion over the years.
The salad bar is always good value, the different meal options do not change much but one can't expect much for that sort of price.
Even though the quality of the food seems to have improved in the last year or so, making it actually a nicer place to go to (and it looks like other people think the same as the restaurant is very often packed), there is still room for improvement. Service can be very slow, and when you eventually get your food, it has more than once arrived warmish and/or soggy. Even more frustrating when you are sitting close to the kitchen, and you can see your food standing there, waiting to be brought to your table... This links nicely to what I honestly think is the big issue with this place: the staff. It seems that the kitchen staff and managers are fairly efficient, but the floor staff have been disappointing time and time again. Rude, lazy, not bothered, inexperienced, we've seen it all. It's never good when the only thing you remember from your meal out is how poor the waiter or waitress was!
Conclusion: give the place a chance if you're in the area, but be warned was the service can be "variable"...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lareynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Black Lion Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Black Lion Harvester. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went to Harvester for a quick dinner after a long day at about 9pm on 25/7/2013. After finishing our salad bowls we waited and waited... and then had to ask for another drink even though it wasn't busy. The table wasn't wiped and was wet. At 10pm we asked where our food was to be told it was just being plated up. 15 mins later the food arrived. No half spitroast chicken with the meal, the steak fahita was wrapped in paper, looked like it had come from KFC but not as nice! Half a portion of fries, no sauce which should have come with it- when we queried we were told that the ticket machine hadn't printed our order in the kitchen and they had run out of spitroast chicken!!

Needless to say we didn't eat any of it, paid for our drinks we'd had and left! We complained to the manager who didn't seem particulary bothered.

I would understand if it wad really busy but there was hardly anyone in there. I worked as a waitress for 2 years and my partner is a chef so we know even more than a regular customer that these poor standards are just totally unacceptable.

Don't go!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Meichc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Black Lion Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Well if you don't want to cook then the harvester is usually an option for you. The quality of the food is variable as is the service, but then I guess you cant really expect too much for the price you pay......however considering you have the curry house across the road which has much better food (although it is more expensive) or Lura's a short walk away which is also very good value I can't see how I will be going back anytime soon.

1  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Black Lion Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The interior was surprisingly keep oneself happy and sound good decision to be in the place in all round activity with cast benifical

Thank Ramesh Chandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Black Lion Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback.
Kind regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Have not dined here for over a year as it was going down hill but today was all good as they have refurnished and looks a lot more brighter.There menu had changed.I had the Jack Daniels combo ribs and steak and was spot on. My wife had the signature fish and chips and that too was excellent. Big portions and great taste. It was getting quite busy when we was in there and was a sign of happy customers. Will be returning again.Well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rich_Lee4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion Harvester also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing