We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Ranked #59 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Last minute break”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We decided on Saturday morning to take a last minute break down to Brighton for the weekend. Hotels & B&B's were booking up very quickly as its half term.
We were lucky enough to find availability at Marine View. When I explained we wanted one twin room & one double room as we were travelling with teenagers, the proprietor couldn't do enough & moved rooms around so that we could occupy the entire ground floor, so we'd all be close together & he even took our breakfast orders in advance!
Marine View is in a great location on the Kempton side of town. A short walk takes you to the Lanes, the shopping centre & the beach.
Our rooms were well furnished, with nice comfy bed, plenty of storage space & ensuite shower. The other room "twin room" had 2 big double beds, tv very big bathroom - with bath & shower.

All in all, Marine View had everything we wanted - it was perfect.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    77
    28
    12
    27
See reviews for
26
84
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Thank you very much Richard for looking after us and making our stay in Brighton so pleasurable. We enjoyed our breakfast and were grateful for all the helpful information you gave.
Neil had problems walking up the stairs to the first floor bedroom but he took up the challenge and made it.
The bedrooms were small but clean warm and comfortable, it was cosy coming in from the rain into the warm room.
Thank you Richard for generally being so helpful, as well as phoning for Taxis and the loan of the big umbrella's.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location, great little place, great staff especially rich who couldn't of been more helpful and pleasant. Definitely recommend marine view as the ideal place for a weekend break or longer if needed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulshipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The owner was lovely and willing to bargain :-) rooms were small but clean. The photos on the website made it look better than it was. Its an extra 10quid to park too !!! Breakfast was ok, scrambled eggs not good. Sausage low quality but a nice choice of yogurt. We had a room at the top, no real view. The shower had no pressure :-/ Good location and couldn't fault the staff !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedavis1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First the positives - the location is brilliant, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and we loved the breakfast room - really cosy and welcoming with a Wurlitzer juke box.
We were a rather disappointed with the room. Although reasonably clean, it was in much need of decoration and modernisation. Had the feel of a room in a tired old B&B. Looking at other guests photos, it looks as though some of the rooms are better than the one we were in. It wouldn't take much work to make improvements - a lick of paint, some new bedlinen, screw things back on the wall that are currently hanging off! If the rooms were updated we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalTips42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked this hotel on reviews from other guests
Not sure if maybe I expect to much but the hotel gave me the worst room I have ever stayed in
If I had not already payed for room I would not have stay here

Room Tip: Beware of paying in advance leave yourself the option of seeing before you agree to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in Brighton for two days in late August. The owner of the hotel met us on arrival and was very friendly. We had made a special request for a larger room so we could fit our travel cot in which they had no problem accommodating. The hotel itself was cleaned to a reasonable standard but was a bit worn in places, however it was as expected for the price that we paid (the South East is ridiculously expensive compared to the rest of the country). The owner went out of his way to be helpful throughout our stay and I would recommend this property for that reason alone, although if you're looking for no frills, reasonably priced accommodation very close to both the town and the beach this fits the bill nicely. As we were so close to town I was expecting the area to be noisy but we had no trouble sleeping with the windows open. As a final word, I would advise anyone traveling to Brighton that parking is expensive, difficult to find and the traffic wardens are like circling vultures. I got a parking fine 5 minutes after my ticket expired whilst I was in the post office round the corner getting change for the ticket machine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#34 of 43 in Brighton
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#50 of 94 in Brighton
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#66 of 94 in Brighton
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#65 of 94 in Brighton
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#24 of 94 in Brighton
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#31 of 94 in Brighton
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine View Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine View Hotel Brighton

Property: Marine View Hotel Brighton
Address: 24 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine View Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marine View Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing