We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome relief”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Ranked #59 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A welcome relief”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stuck at 10pm on a Sunday night needing 2 rooms as could not possibly stay in the Royal Albion, the proprietor could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Sorted the rooms and did not charge an exorbitant rate despite our circumstances. Rooms were warm, clean, bright and cheerful. Breakfast was cooked on request and was tasty, keys provided so we could come and go as we pleased. Very happy :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Htravellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    27
    11
    27
See reviews for
25
82
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arriving at the front door we noticed 1 of the 2 lights leaning drunkenly against next door and the unpolished brasswork. Still enter and hope for the best.
A twin room was 1x bed and one folding put-u-up bed. The latter was Ok to put the case on but not much comfort to sleep on. Let those who follow be warned.

Cleanliness reasonable although we did not fancy using the toothbrush or false eyelashes left by a previous occupant. They obviously read a lot as 2 bulbs u/s in each of bedroom and bathroom. Also the cobwebs were a nice decorative touch, scuff marks on the walls and some (blue) staining on the bath tub. Cracked hand basin and efflorescing plasterwork
.
Breakfast OK and reasonably pleasant staff plus a central location near to the sea.; Provision of hair dryer a good touch.but very poor value for money .If hoping to fill rooms at £130-£140 one must be on top of maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moleBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I booked this hotel for a seaside weekend for 2 nights from Friday to Sunday. On arrival, we were welcomed by the very friendly host who quickly checked us in and offered a free wifi code for our iPhones. So far, so good.

We then walked up the stairs to our rooms, where we found very comfortable beds, a working television and a clean bathroom. Furthermore, there were tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and toiletries provided which I thought was excellent value for the price we paid. The shower was in full working order. I was also impressed that an iron was available on request and that we could come and go as we pleased, whatever hour it was.

After our two very comfortable nights of sleep, we were able to choose anything we wanted for our cooked English breakfast (freshly made by the kitchen) and were also shown to the table of fruit, fruit juice and cereals. Tea, coffee and toast were also provided. Everything was wonderful, especially the cooked English breakfast. The latter was free of excess grease as can so often be found in other establishments. The staff serving breakfast were equally fantastic.

The checkout procedure was efficient and we were given a very warm departure. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Brighton for any purpose.

Well done team! I look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joss_the_Accountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Loved this hotel! Nice room, lovely and helpful staff, good location to the centre of the town and the beach. Good breakfast.
I recomend this hotel to everybody that comes to Brighton, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalia1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at The Marine View with my partner for two nights, room 8 at the very top. The room was on the little small side but it was lovely, fresh and clean and nicely decorated, breakfast was good too.. The staff where so very friendly and Richard welcoming. I will definitely stay there again. The location was fabulous with the sea at your doorstep virtually, great restaurants near by and the Lanes a nice stroll away. Brighton Marina is a fab place to spend the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToshDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Found the staff at Marine View very kind and helpful. Room was great and breakfast was good too. Had no problems at all and would recommend to others and stay again myself. Marine View is also very well located in Brighton, so it's a great place to stay in the city. Nick T

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here recently for 1 night only, we was welcomed lovely by the staff and our room (number 1) was basic but very clean, the smell of fresh laundry and sheets was lovely too!.
Richard also was very helpful, recommended some nice resturants to go too and also let us use the iron (as we forgot ours), lovely location and easy to get to the main shops and the pier.

My only down side was the noise, i think if we was higher in the B&B i wouldnt of had a problem, but we was the 1st room you came too, so could hear everyone coming and going late at night and also people talking in the living room area, which was a pain 5am and i could still hear noise .

Although this was a problem i would defo go back and stay but just recommened a different room.
The shower was lovely so im not sure why people have said this is a problem on other reviews because ours was perfect.

Breakfast was great too, alot to choose from.

Room Tip: Make sure your not in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#26 of 44 in Brighton
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#55 of 93 in Brighton
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamptons Brighton
Hamptons Brighton
#53 of 93 in Brighton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#21 of 93 in Brighton
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#66 of 93 in Brighton
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 93 in Brighton
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine View Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine View Hotel Brighton

Property: Marine View Hotel Brighton
Address: 24 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine View Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marine View Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing