We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good, but food quality has slipped”
Review of Bill's

Bill's
Ranked #45 of 1,139 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bill's Brighton restaurant opened in 2005, following the success of Lewes Bill's. Formerly a bus depot, it has a reputation as the place to go for weekend breakfasts, informal business meetings, and after work drinks and dinner.
Confolens, France
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Still good, but food quality has slipped”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The English breakfast is okay but unless you ask the staff the toast underneath the food making it soft spongy and unappetising. The tea pots also can be over filled with water making the one tea bag provided per person a weak cuppa (I now take my own extra bags). The French toast with fruit and maple syrup is very nice, but the sausage sandwiches are too door step like with dry bread making them very unappetising. Also all the wonderful cakes on display are now not there any more?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Onestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    429
    139
    72
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NEVER EVER AGAIN : : Overpriced and dangerous!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I will never come back anymore.

FOOD: The food range is limited. The so-good butternut squash risotto is not the same any more. It has become bland and the portion is way too small for the price, stingy portions. The quality has definitely gone down.

ATMOSPHERE: You cannot deny the design of the restaurant is very welcoming. However, the spacious venue is ruined by the tables situated way too close to each other. In result, the restaurant gains more income at the expense of customers’ comfort. One can see that the customer’s satisfaction is not as important as the revenue.

SERVICE: That is the biggest drawback of the restaurant.
The staff is occupied with chatting to each other instead of taking care of its customers, checking tables and making sure the restaurant is run smoothly.

VALUE: Small and overpriced dishes, bad value for money

But the worst happened to me when I nearly caught a thief who stole my phone from my handbag. I was begging for help from the staff to cope with the thief but never received any support. I caught her red handed and i shouted for help. They are preoccupied with chatting and being simply busy.
The worst is this event happened when the overstaffed was empty.
They preffer to behave as they were blind and deaf. It’s an unsafe place.


I have forwarded my complaints letter to the Operations Manager who got back to me with a list of excuses as to why there was no way they could help me. The establishment has never apologised let alone never offered me a compensation. You would expect them to take my complains of board and deal with them in a professional manner." Sloopy management". However, the feeling they gave me was that they do not care about customer’s opinion. They clearly do not strive to improve their service. Customer’s feedback is useless in their case.

My advice is to avoid a place that does not value its customers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank VICKYRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY, ENGLAND, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bills Restaurant, Guildford, surrey”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant whilst shopping in Guildford. Had a lovely lunch and glass of wine, whilst enjoying the atmosphere of this buzzy place.

The staff were very attentive, and the menu suits all, from breakfast to evening meal.

I have just looked on there web site and discovered there is one nearby in wimbledon, will be trying that one out very soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little eaterie but perhaps resting on laurels a little”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Bill's has a great reputation and I've enjoyed eating both in the Brighton and Lewes stores. I've noted this year as have other reviewers that rather than putting prices up, the portions seem to have shrunk a little. But this was never about finding best value, it was for the experience of eating fresh creative dishes in a quirky grocery environment. I'd heartily recommend it for brunch and would usually opt either for Eggs Benedict or Royale but the Bubble and Squeak is equally good.
I've eaten dinner twice here too and the dishes are very well considered, although perhaps a little too small in one case - and the wine list is adequate.
Staff are usually good at keeping queues down although if eating here more than once you'll almost certainly find yourself queuing round the store before being seated at some point.
My only gripe is that the tables are so close together there is often little elbow room, or worse you and/ or your plates get knocked by passers-by. This was only critical once - we ended up with a jug of milk being tipped into a newly delivered breakfast. It might be kinder to consider patrons' comfort as well as profitability?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frenziedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here on New Year's Day and the place was rammed. Efficient queue and we were sat inside 10 mins. Attentive staff serving very good food. Would definitely recommend to anyone to visit, whether breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank RogerNorrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing