We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How all fish and chips should be.”
Review of Bardsley's

Bardsley's
Ranked #91 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
mervne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How all fish and chips should be.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on our way into Brighton. Lovely fish and chips and friendly attentive staff. The previous reviews were bang on. If you want a true English dining experience, you must go here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mervne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    70
    20
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Deserves its reputation as a Brighton institution”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Displayed on the wall are copies of glowing reviews by some of the UK's top broadsheets. Within Brighton, this has a reputation as one of the best fish'n' chip shops and restaurants. The reputation is deserved.

There are a number of fish on offer and they can be cooked a few ways, including poached. I had fried haddock and the batter was light. The fish was piping hot inside. The chips were not greasy either.

There were some good bottled ales on offer.

The service was prompt and friendly.

The decor is bright, clean and functional.

Bardsley's is in one of the more interesting streets in this part of 'real' Brighton, with a great pub (the Mitre), one of the best second hand record shops in the UK, funky barbers, BMX shop, tattooists, a pie shop, a pet shop, a smoking emporium and a pagan type 'vintage' shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips worth eating”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I still remember this restaurant from the days I was a student. We used to visit it after a Duke of York's movie feature. We recently went to try it after 32 years and the fish and chips taste as good. I don't know what it is with the way the chips are cut, but the result is good taste without the oily aftertaste. We ordered haddock and it was very well cooked and flaky. Nothing fancy, just one of the best fish and chip places I have been.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paokara1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, nice fish, nice service and good personal touch”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very nice place to enjoy real fish and chips.
We went there all the way from London and we haven't been disappointed.
Their butter is one of the best I have ever tried. Crispy and the fish is moist. Perfectly cooked.
The owner is a good character. I asked about their secret for the butter and he was very open about how they do it (you should go, eat and ask if you want to know). He also kindly give us a 1.5kg of the flour they use and some tips on how to do a great Fish.

Would I come back, yes.
BTW, they have an original suit from "the cheeky chappy".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1dkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Fish & Chips”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, excellent service, nice atmosphere- we will return!! Not close to sea but worth a 20 minutes walk. Great experience. If you like to try different fish types for fish an chips is definitely the right place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardsley's also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bardsley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing