We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chips worth eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bardsley's

Bardsley's
Ranked #89 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips worth eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I still remember this restaurant from the days I was a student. We used to visit it after a Duke of York's movie feature. We recently went to try it after 32 years and the fish and chips taste as good. I don't know what it is with the way the chips are cut, but the result is good taste without the oily aftertaste. We ordered haddock and it was very well cooked and flaky. Nothing fancy, just one of the best fish and chip places I have been.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paokara1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    67
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, nice fish, nice service and good personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very nice place to enjoy real fish and chips.
We went there all the way from London and we haven't been disappointed.
Their butter is one of the best I have ever tried. Crispy and the fish is moist. Perfectly cooked.
The owner is a good character. I asked about their secret for the butter and he was very open about how they do it (you should go, eat and ask if you want to know). He also kindly give us a 1.5kg of the flour they use and some tips on how to do a great Fish.

Would I come back, yes.
BTW, they have an original suit from "the cheeky chappy".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1dkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, excellent service, nice atmosphere- we will return!! Not close to sea but worth a 20 minutes walk. Great experience. If you like to try different fish types for fish an chips is definitely the right place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is such a gem of a place, I love coming here for grilled skate with caper butter and fantastic hand cut chips.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Idreamofdosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visited again and as usual food the fish and chips the best freshl cooked and served quickly and efficiently by the staff .
My only complaint is that they need bigger plates as the portions are so large they are falling of the sides
Greatfor just popping in or making an evening of it with friends
BRILLANT

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crunch2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardsley's also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bardsley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing