We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great evening”

Riddle and Finns The Beach
Ranked #28 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $99
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Now open on the beachfront – Riddle & Finns II is the sister restaurant to the highly acclaimed Riddle & Finns in The Lanes.
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great evening”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

great food, attentive and fun staff and friendly fellow diners all made for a lovely evening. it was raining constantly outside but candles made it cosy inside

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorAJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    407
    101
    56
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best fish restaurant ever”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

if you love fish it's a must! My partner and I ate here to celebrate my birthday. The food was just amazing. Staff were very helpful and attentive. We had a fantastic time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood for ages. ”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were delighted to find space as we had previously had a great meal here. Seated with another couple, as is the format, we ended having a great chat with this lovely couple from London. Our choice for the meal was scallops, razor clams, mussels and calamari. They were fabulous. A nice bottle of bubbly topped off the food. I strongly recommend that you try this place if you are a seafood lover.

Helpful?
Thank Eugene L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“One rude member of staff”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We attempted to eat in here today. We were in a group of 5 and there was a table set for four people and available. The waiter would not allow an extra chair at the table and was extremely rude to my daughter who politely asked if the table would seat five. I'm not sure why some waiting staff take pleasure from being rude to (potential) customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony G, General Manager at Riddle and Finns The Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ian

I am very sorry to hear that you felt rudely treated by a member of my team. We obviously try to be polite and courteous to all of our customers, potential or otherwise, and take no pleasure in being seemingly rude, or, indeed, in being unable to meet our guests requests.

Due to the size of our site and it's table plan, all of our 4 cover tables line the wall on one side of the restaurant creating a passage running through the centre on the other side of the table; this allows customers and most importantly waiters and waitresses up and down the site carrying hot plates and larger fruits de mer platters, clear and easy access to the toilets for guests and a clear line to the rear fire escape. For these reasons through experience we have found it to be impractical and a hindrance to other customers to allow an extra chair on the end of any of these tables. I am sorry that this made you feel unwelcome and I can assure you that it is never intended to be rude or in any other way offensive to practice this policy.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Oysters and Scallops for Breakfast? Oh Yes!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Fantastic food, great view, great service (albiet a bit slow due to a huge group arriving just before us). Upstairs is a suntrap - brilliant!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DivineMrsE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riddle and Finns The Beach also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Riddle and Finns The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing