We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants I've been to.”

Riddle and Finns The Beach
Ranked #26 of 1,141 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $99
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Now open on the beachfront – Riddle & Finns II is the sister restaurant to the highly acclaimed Riddle & Finns in The Lanes.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants I've been to.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The quality of the food was excellent. Fresh, tasty, beautiful presentation. If I had to criticize one thing, it would be the price, but for the quality of food I got, I think it was definitely worth it. The atmosphere was sophisticated and friendly at the same time. Dining at a long table facing other diners put me off at first but it added to the experience in the end. I've recommended this place to a friend who's also going to Brighton. It was absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SV21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,124
    395
    96
    55
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would have been excellent, if not..”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Yes, it could have been excellent.. Food was excellent. We had an impressive fruits de mer and me and my cousin were very intrigued by the daily special Steak and Lobster, which was absolutely amazing and all cooked as requested. The only thing we were slightly put off at the beginning was the very arrogant and vulgar blonde manager. We have asked if it would be possible to put some tables in the balcony together as it was few of us, which she explained was impossible due to booked tables for the evening and she would be "told off" by her managers. Since we could only stay outside we have asked if we could move the umbrella and block the setting sun a bit as it was too hot for some of us and once again the 'lovely' manager said it is against health & safety regulations, but she moved it anyway mumbling she is the one who will be 'told off' later. After that we were served by a very nice and professional waitress and american waiter, who helped us forget the little misunderstanding earlier, until our manager came back again to take our payment. After failing to make some jokes about the full moon, she thanked us by saying 'spasiba' and left us sitting there with our jaws wide opened. Clearly, she has assumed we were Russian (which none of us were) and just like that ruined the whole great experience. Apart from this little incident it is a great place for seafood and I am definitely coming back next time I'm visiting Brighton.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lukasnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place, didn't live to the hype. But Brighton in the sun is busy.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Went in for dinner and have to say fab atmosphere, very new to trip advisor but think it's great to give honest feedback. It just was missing something, but then again I suppose today was a Crazy day in the sun

So of course the quality will go down, as everyone is hot under the collar. I would come back tomorrow, my friends however I'm doubtful about. But sometimes you just have to realise the world can stop for you. So I shall come back at a quieter time. Many thanks Xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaLo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, but we felt Ignored”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I came in with my girls for dinner, hearing great things from many friends. But all in all highly disappointing and ended up going to a great place on the sea front and having an incredible time. i would visit again, just needs a personal touch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have passed this restaurant numerous times, but finally popped in on Saturday for lunch. Very busy and a bit noisy, but it was a lunchtime in summer, so only to be expected.
Both my wife's meal and mine were great and the wine list was varied.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riddle and Finns The Beach also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Riddle and Finns The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing