We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riddle and Finns The Beach

Riddle and Finns The Beach
Ranked #25 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $99
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Now open on the beachfront – Riddle & Finns II is the sister restaurant to the highly acclaimed Riddle & Finns in The Lanes.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I went to Brighton where my boyfriend lives and we discovered this fantastic restaurant. We sat with another couple and we chatted all the time, at the end also the abigail sat and cheered with us! Amazing night

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilaria_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    377
    87
    53
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Fish and Sea Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We came here one cold Monday evening in January, having been here in summer on other occasions. We we worried it might not be open on such a day or that it might be cold as the walls are covered in tiles. But it was, open and with plenty of heating not at all cold and with a very welcoming waitress.
It is a very informal place, you usually end up sharing the high bar tables with others but that's no problem.
There are a variety of seafood and fish specialities on offer from seafood platters, shellfish starters and fish main courses but they are happy for you to mix and match - we tried 3 different oysters, a starter of monk fish cheek tempura and a couple of main courses (squid and shellfish risotto and sea bass on a bed of some sort of mash - sorry a couple of weeks ago so I can't remember and it isn't shown on the menu on their website). Everything was beautifully cooked and delicious. We had 2 bottles of wine - one a white was corked when the waitress served it but we noticed immediately and it was changed without question. The bill came to about £100 but that was mainly due to the two bottles of excellent wine. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mouxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We discovered this and wow! What an amazing meal - don't be fooled by the waitress saying the fish comes on it's own - the plaice and soul are enormous - didn't fit on the plate in fact, We should have had less sides as four of us couldn't finish them! Was pricy but worth every penny.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fish lovers heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great setting, relaxed fine dining. The menu had lots of choice. Food was beautiful, fresh and well presented. Will be returning again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarisworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“ok, but needs to up its game.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had the champers for a birthday, the razor clams which are always good and I had the monkfish cheeks. All good but nothing special and it should be special at these prices especially when they add 15% service charge. They need to up their game

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBDevotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riddle and Finns The Beach also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Riddle and Finns The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing