We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you are thirsty.”

Las Iguanas - Brighton
Ranked #129 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
1 review
“Don't go if you are thirsty.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Food is very good. Drinks took an age to arrive. We were Hoping for another round of cocktails but were never asked. Clearly not enough staff on duty. Disappointed ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickNick650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    158
    67
    38
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food was very good and the service was good but the music and the atmosphere was just so loud and oppressing we just sat in silence and then drank our wine outside so we could talk. All the customers were almost shouting at each other to drown out the constant loud music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Oh! :(”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have been to Las Iguanas in London a few times - which is always excellent. But went for lunch in the Brighton branch with some friends - certainly not the same experience food-wise. We had the 'Happy Hour' cocktails which was nice. Two of us ordered the Haloumi cheese and avocado salad which was soooo disappointing after the build up description on the menu. The salad was flat and lack lustre with no lovely dressing on it, the avocado had seen better days and there were only three pieces of haloumi cheese in it and for £8.50 was really overpriced and should've been on the starter section not the main! We did voice this to the waiter but he didn't seem terribly interested. We had to order fries to bulk it out because it just wasn't enough. And our other friend who ordered the burrito said that it was very underseasoned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lavendergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Initially annoyed as had to leave a deposit for only a table of 10 and were placed on a awful table right in the middle of a walk way (something las iganaus should look at this isn't the first time booking for large parties this has happened even though other nicer larger tables aren't being used/reserved), but yet again wasn't disappointed by the amazing food and fabulous service. It's the only restaurant I feel safe that I'm always guaranteed this. Well done, keep it up! I can't remember the waitresses name ( she had long dark hair) but it was a table of 10 on the 7/8 for 8pm , if you could pass on how good she was and a real asset to your team!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value in happy hour!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Can be pricey if you go for a whole evening but if you go in happy hour you get two for one, so then becomes really reasonable. Staff seem to be really friendly and always happy to help. Not eaten there but the eating area looked really busy when we left so definitely would like to eat there next time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank potterylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing