We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch”

Harry Ramsden's World Famous Fish & Chips
Ranked #164 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harry Ramsden's serve the same great quality fish and chips today that they have been since 1928. The brand was established 80 years ago, when Harry Ramsden opened his first takeaway store in a hut in Guiseley. His top quality fish and chips brought people from near and far and it wasn't long before Harry's became the most famous fish and chip shop brand in the world. The fish is freshly prepared in Harry's kitchens daily and has that distinctive flavour revered the world over. The menu includes the world famous battered fish with its closely guarded secret recipe, as well as an extensive choice of mouth-watering options and a fantastic children's menu, to satify all the family. We also serve a great grilled fish platter to share. Harry Ramsden's Brighton is opposite the pier and open every day except Christmas Day.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Fast, polite service. Lovely food. The room is a bit noisy but it was extremely busy and we were pleased to be seated right away and served quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparki_Sambora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    251
    138
    81
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nobody should go through Brighton without stopping for a meal or a dinner at this historical mansion. Excellent Cod & ships, with a large choice of starters.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Much needed oasis in 29c heat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

My niece and I decided to try Harry Ramsden's for lunch and are really glad we did. Due to its popularity we had to wait ten minutes but it was well worth it!

The restaurant is very spacious and it is fully air conditioned with beautiful sea views. Once we were seated our lovely waitress came and took our orders and our drinks promptly arrived. I chose the trademark - Haddock and chips and my niece had the New Yorker burger. Both came very quickly and had good sized portions. My fish was really fresh and the batter light and crispy.

A great but simple meal, well presented alongside great service. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Disappointing ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking forward to traditional fish and chips at the seaside. We were very disappointed. The chips were wet, soggy and coolish. Also the mushy peas were somewhat watery. Not what we expected from HR. Did complain about the chips and they were replaced with hotter ones but by then the fish was cold. New chips while warmer did not taste much better. Overpriced and poor quality. Manager acted as if oblivious to this although we were at the table by the door where he was standing and could not have failed to hear our comments. Needs to do much better to compete with other eateries in Brighton.

Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just as good as Whitby.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Had to have my fish and chip fix, so entered the door and was straight away made welcome. We had the over 60s supper. And were mildly surprised how good and plentiful It was. ambiance was good, staff were all professionals who kept you feeling easy. We will go again, and hope to feel that we are up in Whitby.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David Dade & Betty Scott-Dade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Ramsden's World Famous Fish & Chips also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Harry Ramsden's World Famous Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing