We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy fish and chips :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of bankers

bankers
Ranked #115 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bankers is a multi award winning Brighton Fish Restaurant and Fish & Chips Takeaway on Western Road. Bankers has been an institution in Brighton since 2001 and we are passionate about using only ethically sourced products from trusted suppliers to ensure we can serve you the best quality fish and chips possible. Our restaurant is situated in a large white Victorian building with large windows and high ceilings and offers customers a light, airy, bright environment to enjoy the best fish and chips in Brighton. Alternatively if you are passing and don’t have time to sit down in our restaurant please pop into our takeaway and we will be happy to serve you quickly and efficiently.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy fish and chips :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Always been a fan of this restaurant as my parents took me there as a kid all the time when we visited Brighton.
Went there recently for my birthday and I was glad it is still so good. I had medium cod and chips as the large is MASSIVE! The fish is yummy, the mushy peas are tasty and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend this place as one of the best fish and chips Ive had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jelimeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    169
    53
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Been here a few times and it's been great every time, take away or eat in, the chips are up there as some of the best we've had and the batter is light and crispy. Made a mistake last time though and ordered whitebait to start... the portion was huge and tasted amazing but was so stuffed after the cod and chips that followed! It really is the best fish and chips to be had in Brighton though, if you're prepared to walk a bit further up from the pier and promenade for this place you won't regret it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good fish n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Would return, tasty fish n chips and plenty to choose from. Would be better if location was along seafront but only situated a little way back. Was busy with students when we arrived but didn't bother us. Haddock was very popular and the curry sauce was so yummy. Worth a visit if after fish n chips

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very nice fish & chips. Eat in or take away. Very clean and fast service. Reasonably priced for a very filling and enjoyable meal. Staff very friendly and helpful. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karlalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
344 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Overall good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We ordered sole + chips and haddock + chips , with side orders of gherkins and mushy peas. At the time this was a pleasant experience, the batter and fish were nice, though I found the batter lacked crispness overall and so, by the time you got to the end of the dish, it had become a bit soggy and oily. Probably because the temperature of the oil was too low. We ate at 2pm and we both got stomach cramps by the evening; not too sure why but maybe that had something to do with the oiliness.

The chips were nice as were the sides. We found the service attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bankers also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to bankers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing