We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish & chips”
Review of bankers

bankers
Ranked #105 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bankers is a multi award winning Brighton Fish Restaurant and Fish & Chips Takeaway on Western Road. Bankers has been an institution in Brighton since 2001 and we are passionate about using only ethically sourced products from trusted suppliers to ensure we can serve you the best quality fish and chips possible. Our restaurant is situated in a large white Victorian building with large windows and high ceilings and offers customers a light, airy, bright environment to enjoy the best fish and chips in Brighton. Alternatively if you are passing and don’t have time to sit down in our restaurant please pop into our takeaway and we will be happy to serve you quickly and efficiently.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fish & chips”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

went there mon 25th mar after having a massage &facial at uniquely organic at 40 church rd hove you must try this it was wonderful emma knows her work she is great . after that my friend &i went to bankers & had fish &chips plus coffee oap price costing £5 50 great value for money will go again very nice staff treat you well &look after you what ever you spend thankyou all for a very nice day

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendab463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thankyou for your comments about your recent trip to Bankers Restaurant.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that our staff looked after you.
It is reassuring to know that we are giving our customers what they want at an affordable price.
We hope to see you again in Bankers very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    181
    62
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good honest fish and chips - but no more.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good portion of home style chips and the fish, I had cod, it was not over fried as is often the case, and the batter coating was light and crisp; so often it is thick and undercooked. The service from our waitress was adequate, but no more. My only small complaint is that the meal would have been far more attractively presented had it had a small portion of green peas, mushy or otherwise, on the side of the plate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising/Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thankyou for your comments about your recent trip to Bankers restaurant.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and we have passed your comments on to the Manager and staff. We do offer a wide range of side orders to accompany our main meals and we offer these rather than include them as part of the dish as personal tastes vary and we have found that this works better.
We hope to see you back at Bankers very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Firm white chunky fish together with delicious big chips cooked fresh yum yum ... I'd have them every day !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jooleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising/Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent trip to Bankers.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and that everything was cooked to your expectations. We will pass your comments on to the Manager and the staff there and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A visit to Brighton is never complete without a visit to Bankers. The staff are friendly, the service is quick and the fish is freshly cooked and served hot. All at a reasonable price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bertiebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising/Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou for your comments about your recent trip to Bankers restaurant. We always welcome customer feedback and it is reassuring to know that our customers are happy with what we are giving them.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best by far!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took my Nan to Bankers for her first trip out since breaking her hip in the summer. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and patient with us. The food was great and didn't feel pressured to leave as soon as we had finished.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising/Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou for your comments about your recent trip to Bankers with your Nan. We are pleased to hear that the staff were patient and understanding and we hope to see you there again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bankers also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to bankers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing