We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chips”
Review of bankers

bankers
Ranked #113 of 1,203 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bankers is a multi award winning Brighton Fish Restaurant and Fish & Chips Takeaway on Western Road. Bankers has been an institution in Brighton since 2001 and we are passionate about using only ethically sourced products from trusted suppliers to ensure we can serve you the best quality fish and chips possible. Our restaurant is situated in a large white Victorian building with large windows and high ceilings and offers customers a light, airy, bright environment to enjoy the best fish and chips in Brighton. Alternatively if you are passing and don’t have time to sit down in our restaurant please pop into our takeaway and we will be happy to serve you quickly and efficiently.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very nice but this place relies on its reputation too much. It needs to bring itself up to the 21st century and make their produce truly outstanding. Aim for the sky Bankers...you might actually benefit from it!

Thank GluteusMaximus1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising & Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thankyou for your comments about your recent visit to Bankers Restaurant.
We always welcome customer feedback and always aim to exceed customer expectations.
Our staff are always willing to listen to any concerns you may have which affect your visit and will deal with your complaints at the time or alternatively, please do not hesitate to contact our Head Office on 01279 713560 or alternatively e-mail us at office@fnc-ltd.co.uk and our Management team will investigate your complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 534 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a delicious grilled haddock with salad and a side plate of chips. The others tried the cod and haddock in batter, the batter was lovely, the fish was good.

The chips though were horrible. The service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising/Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thankyou for your comments about your recent visit to Bankers Restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Haddock and Cod, but obviously concerned to hear that you were disappointed with the chips on this occassion. We hope that that you will visit Bankers again, and should you have any further issues with the quality of any of the food served, please do not hesitate to mention it to the management who will be happy to hear your concerns and will take the necessary steps to ensure that you are completely satisfied with your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Firstly the thing which most bothered me - Bankers serves shark. They display it described as "Huss" but huss is just a trade name for several types of cat shark. Anyone who doesn't spend their lives as a hermit must surely be aware of the pressures facing shark species the world over and, while not protected, "Huss" populations are threatened and bearing the negative impact of these pressures. The trouble with fishing Huss is to do with the way they reproduce. These sharks have eggs which develop internally over several months, so they are not well-equipped to withstand commercial fishing. One species, the smoothhound is viviparous - it lays live young. They have a maximum litter of 10 and they take a year of gestation before being born. So you can see how, unlike egg-laying fish which can lay millions of eggs in one season, these species are simply not built to withstand heavy predation.

What adds insult to injury is that, when asked what Huss was, it was described to us as "a type of eel".

As far as the rest of the food goes: the chips were soggy, the cod wasn't filleted properly and was full of bones, the mushy peas and curry sauce were good.

I won't be going to Bankers again, but might consider it if they commit to not selling shark. There are plenty of alternatives in this day and age. Perhaps they might take a look into the Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall "Fish Fight" to consider what they can do to be more responsible, and lessen the negative impact they are having on our oceans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nudilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising/Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

In response to your comments, we would like to make the following statement:
The Huss Fish that we offer on our menu is actually British Columbia Hook & Line Spiny Dogfish and not Shark as you state. It is certified by our suppliers to comply with the Fisheries Management of Registration, and conforms with the requirements of the MSC Principles and Criteria for Sustainable Fishing.
We understand the importance of sustainable fishing and the importance of playing our part in securing the future of fish stocks across the globe.
We do not, have not and will never source any of our fish from the North Sea, but choose to obtain our Cod, Haddock, Plaice and Rock Eel from the plentiful, sustainable supplies that can be found in Iceland, The Barents Sea and The Pacific Ocean.
We are passionate about the food that we prepare for our customers and would not want to offer anything that falls below our very high standards. If you had any concerns about the quality of your food, we would have been willing to listen to your complaint at the time. We welcome all customer feedback and if you would like to contact us directly at office@fnc-ltd.co.uk we will investigate your other issues about the quality of the filleted cod and chips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've been to bankers a few times and it's always been well, ok. I agree with other reviews that Often that the service lets it down, however last night, I was greeted by a charming young lady who was very polite and patient while I decided what I wanted despite the takeaway being reasonably busy and her being by herself. I bought large cod and was warned it would be about 10 minutes, I didn't mind. I had quite a long walk home but the young lady placed my box (they now serve fish and chips in a cardboard box) of fish and chips in a bag to try and keep it warmer. Whilst chatting and always smiling, which was a nice change in there. The large cod was definitely worth the wait!!! it was perfectly battered, light and crispy and very tasty as were the chips and mushy peas. The box definitely kept it perfect! Best fish and chips and service I've Had from there in a long long time! Maybe with these boxes and new staff bankers are going to be great again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mhubbard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary W, Advertising/Marketing Dept at bankers, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thankyou for your comments about your recent visit to Bankers. We appreciate that all of our staff work very hard, and we are delighted when customers compliment them on their customer service, and we will pass your comments on to them
We are pleased that you enjoyed your fish and chips (and that the new boxes kept them warm for you).
We look forward to seeing you again in Bankers very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A good old fashioned chip shop. One side is a take out chip shop the other is a restaurant. The food was traditional and very tasty. Reasonably priced.
Overall a really good experience, my partner and I will visit again and again.

1  Thank RoyalAlbion715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bankers also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to bankers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing