We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny unassuming but the best Japanese food we've had for a long time!”
Review of Pompoko

Pompoko
Ranked #69 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tiny unassuming but the best Japanese food we've had for a long time!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Looks like a cafe from the outside, and you do feel like you are not in a restaurant but in someone s house but the food was amazing. With 2 children 4 and 6 with us as well, we were all happy. Would highly recommend this to anyone who is here. Seek it out! !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeetiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    173
    50
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic resturant with authentic reasonably priced food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We eat here regularly and recently stopped back after a trip to Japan. The food is excellent, served quickly and is inexpensive. There is a wide range of things on the menu for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PJice9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Attracts a lot of students because it's cheap but even oldies like me go. For a well-balanced meal probably not the best choice in the world, but interesting tastes and you can bring a bottle in with you (corkage to pay) and cutlery limited, but hey good to practise with your chopsticks. Don't get caught out - don't accept cards, buy ATMs nearby. Favourite dish - the eel and Kaiso salad. Limited desserts - only 2 I think! Look out for offers on Facebook!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Cheap, Tasty and Smiley Staff !”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Yesterday, my girlfriend and I visited this place on the recommendation of Trip Advisor. The place is very cosy therefore gets busy quickly mainly with young people/students. We had to wait few minutes but then we got a table. We had 3 starters which included Prawns Tempura, Ebi Fried and Gyoza. Although the Prawns were juicy and succulent they didn’t deliver the same flavours as the Gyoza. My girlfriend had Chicken Curry that wasn’t bad while I had Pork Curry that had a good taste but was a bit fatty. We also had Japanese Tea and I must confess my ignorance here, I don’t know if it supposed to taste like that but it had a funny taste and as my girlfriend said, the smell and taste reminded her of when she goes to get the tyres changed at the tyre shop!!! Overall the meal was satisfactory for the price we paid, just under £ 20 for 2. I find it difficult in cases like this to give the right score because in my opinion it should score between 3 and 4. This is due to the rating system I have already pointed out to trip advisor but I haven’t had a reply yet. It doesn’t seem right somehow to go for 3 classified as average to jump to 4 as very good. Shouldn’t there be one in between for “good”? Therefore although I will give them 3 it should read 3 and a half.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food & quick service”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Overall, no complaints. The food is AWESOME (especially the tofu dishes and chicken satay sticks) and the service is even better, with the wait for food being no longer than 10 minutes. If you are looking for a long dining experience I would not recommend going here as it is very fast and you probably won't spend long in there, but it is DEFINITELY worth a visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chard0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompoko also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pompoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing