We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe style over substance?”
Review of Terre a Terre

Terre a Terre
Ranked #25 of 1,168 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Brighton's critically acclaimed Terre a Terre is a vegetarian restaurant that will have even the most ardent carnivore waxing lyrical. Situated close to the sea-front. The decor is chic and stylish, using wooden floors and furniture to contrast with vibrant colours. But here the food is the centrepiece: dhal basmati buns with coconut curry leaf chatni, better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and Thai aubergine jungle curry are just a few of the exotic and imaginative dishes you can find here. To complement the food, a large selection of organic beers, ciders and wines are available. A three course meal here costs an average of £30 per person. A refreshing take on vegetarian cuisine.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Ok, presentation superb at this Brighton veggie institution. Amazed at what can be done with salad, vegetables, rubs, relishes and dips (plus edible flowers, look lovely taste of zilch). But each thing didn't do much for my taste buds I'm afraid. Had their sharing tapas platter. Mind you, desserts excellent. Try the chocoholic plate. Lots of delicious bits, devoured the lot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joeycampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,240)
There are newer reviews for Terre a Terre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,330 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

A special celebration for our vegetarian son led us here. We had all had 3 courses for £28 so restricted our choices in this way. The food interesting but not always successful. Once translated I had salad, rosti and ices.all pleasant My husband says delightful artistic and tasty.
However our son's dessert was so over sweet that he felt sick. Luckily the ices came with ginger so he ate all that to feel better. Surely not a desired outcome!
We will go again but a la carte next time.
Staff here are lovely so I fell sure we will get the needed help in understanding the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal but sorry to hear your son found the dessert too sweet, next time do let the manger know if you have any issues so he/she can check the dish and offer you a replacement if its not to your tastes, as you said our team are very lovely and helpful. We hope to see you again soon. Terre a Terre team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The food was simply fantastic, really original and tasty. We are pretty foodie with broad tastes but we had foods we have never had before and flavours we had never experienced.

Staff were great and chatty and service was well timed.

We had:

Tapas starter for two

This was an amazing introduction to the food they make. Extremely tasty and diverse, almost to the point of being overwhelming.

It was a little fatty, a lot of the food was fried, and really quite massive. I can understand why they do a lunch deal of this and a carafe of wine. It is plenty of food and almost spoilt our appetites for out mains (though that is our own fault for being so greedy!).

Aubergine Dengaku - wonderful. Like a rich, savoury cheese cake with a fantastic seaweed salad.

Frizzle tips- deeply tasty and unlikeanything we have had before

Can't wait to go back,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hannah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

So glad you enjoyed, thanks for the kind words about us. We have a fabulous team (kitchen and floor) a great asset to us - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

To be honest flavours not quite as good as the look. The desserts were fantastic for both. Not cheap esp. wine but probably reasonable value (think Food for friends cheaper and a bit better, but a personal choice really)

1  Thank indigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

So glad you enjoyed. We aim to offer lots of choice on our menu, some dishes are more complex than others. We hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited for the first time, recommended by friends. I'm not a vegetarian but I really enjoyed the food. Desserts were worth trying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

So glad you enjoyed, thanks for the kind words about us. We have a fabulous team (kitchen and floor) a great asset to us - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terre a Terre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Terre a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing