We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm not vegetarian but I love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terre a Terre

Terre a Terre
Ranked #25 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brighton's critically acclaimed Terre a Terre is a vegetarian restaurant that will have even the most ardent carnivore waxing lyrical. Situated close to the sea-front. The decor is chic and stylish, using wooden floors and furniture to contrast with vibrant colours. But here the food is the centrepiece: dhal basmati buns with coconut curry leaf chatni, better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and Thai aubergine jungle curry are just a few of the exotic and imaginative dishes you can find here. To complement the food, a large selection of organic beers, ciders and wines are available. A three course meal here costs an average of £30 per person. A refreshing take on vegetarian cuisine.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I'm not vegetarian but I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My OH is vegetarian and I really feel he gets a hard deal In Restaurants I books this for his birthday lunch and we had a table outside in the very small but sunny courtyard.

Wine was great, food is great, I have been a few times now and love it.

Only downside is that it tends to have too many kids in, obviously families have to eat but I am not a fan of food with children, just my preference. But imagine its the good, food value and atmosphere which brings them all back- guess not really a bad thing!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Common_cultured_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for your review and kind words about us and our food, we have worked hard on making our little terrace a food and drink haven in Brighton, sunny outside spaces are a rarity here, glad you enjoyed. Most of our customers are not vegetarians we work hard on making our food accessible to all. Yes we can be popular amongst families, and we love offering great food for kids, but usually at weekends and holiday times. Weekday evenings sound perfect for you - let us know in advance and we will make every effort to give you a quiet table x
We are really looking forward to re-opening in February after our recent Fire in the kitchen - 2013 is looking to be an exciting year for us, celebrating 20 yrs in business with lots of new and old dishes coming onto the menu and lots more x Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,401
    383
    144
    67
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful, inventive food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Terre a Terre is one of my favourite restaurants.. and I'm not even vegetarian! There is always something to surpise you, in a good way.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for your review and kind words about us and our food, we are really pleased to hear we surprise you, we try our best to give customers lots of choice and apply as much creativity as we can to all our dishes - please do let us know directly if we ever fail to do this in the future
We are really looking forward to re-opening in February after our recent Fire in the kitchen - 2013 is looking to be an exciting year for us, celebrating 20 yrs in business with lots of new and old dishes coming onto the menu and lots more x Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went along for early supper on a mini break with a friend. Both if us totally underwhelmed.

Found the food average and SO over-priced with tiny portions.

For all the rave reviews and recommendations I wondered if I had got the wrong restaurant.
Sadly not.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SamAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Sorry to hear you were disappointed when you last visited. This troubles us greatly, we try our best to give customers lots of choice and apply as much creativity as we can to all our dishes. We have a wonderful and enthusiastic team that deliver the best service. Please contact us directly shop@terreaterre.co.uk with your feedback, we appreciate all feedback and pass it directly to Chef and the managers. We hope you can return sometime and have the true Terre a Terre experience. We are really looking forward to re-opening in February after our recent Fire in the kitchen - 2013 is looking to be an exciting year for us, celebrating 20 yrs in business with lots of new and old dishes coming onto the menu and lots more x Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but with pretentious prices...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had been planning on visiting Terre a Terre for a long time, due to the constant ravings of the people who visit there. So I have visited it a few times now, and actually really enjoyed it. The staff are attentive and friendly without being fake, the room is nice and has a nice feel to it, and the food isn't half bad. I find their inventiveness of their food really interesting, and the flavors are really good. The starters are better than the mains I think. I award the food and decor four stars, and the service five.

The problem comes (and this is in general a criticism of gourmet food in general) from the fact, and several people have mentioned it, that the food, while good, is in small portions, while retaining a high price tag. For example, when me, my Mum and two of my siblings went there, the bill came to around £145, for three courses and general smoothies and stuff. I should have learnt my lesson there, but I went again with my ex this year. When I ordered dessert, which came to around £6, I was presented with two large dates stuffed with marzipan. There was I think a bit of raspberry syrup and then a small mint tea granita.

So yeah, I don't know why we have this trend of fine dining restaurants offering small portions for astronomical prices, and they are. Anyone who is arguing the 'you get what you pay for' rule when three courses come to £30 has too much money on their hands. Quality doesn't exponentially go up with price, and it doesn't necessarily go down with it either.

Look, the people here are passionate about making food (it does show), and the waiters and waitresses are absolutely wonderful. I also believe that it does take a lot of time and effort to make buy and make the food, and there are a lot of staff. I just think that we have this ridiculous notion that we have to pay high prices to have access to high quality goods and service. I get the impression it's something to do with our psychology. But the bottom line is... this may be nice for a one off event, and the food is really good. BUT, there are other gems in Brighton which need visiting as well, for a fraction of the price. Lastly, I think if you have enough money to be a Terre a Terre regular, you're better off going to a cheaper restaurant and giving the difference to a charity. It'll make you feel a lot happier anyway. :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EastSussexLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The menu requires an interpreter but this is upmarket veggie food - delicious but a price tag to match

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank alfie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed. Yes our descriptions can be a little extensive, which we do on purpose as sometimes every element needs mentioning. But all our team know the dishes inside out and are happy to give full descriptions or help you find a dish to match your tastes - we try our best to give customers lots of choice and apply as much creativity as we can to all our dishes. Alongside the a la carte we usually have a promotional menu and a fixed price one to make dining more economical, please ask for best options next time. We are really looking forward to re-opening in February after our recent Fire in the kitchen - 2013 is looking to be an exciting year for us, celebrating 20 yrs in business with lots of new and old dishes coming onto the menu and lots more x Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terre a Terre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Terre a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing