We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hadn't been here for ages and wasn't disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casalingo

Casalingo
Ranked #10 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly & relaxed family run Italian Restaurant with authentic northern Italian cuisine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hadn't been here for ages and wasn't disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

i used to go to this restaurant with an ex and hadn't been back since. I saw the reviews on trip advisor and suggested to my husband that we go and see what its like now. We were not disappointed. With so many great and cheap italian restaurants in Brighton its hard to compete, but this really is a good place to go. Its small and has a busy atmosphere, but the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the food is amazing - really good. They make the pasta on site and it shows. We'll be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spookmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    191
    48
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having read Tripadvisor for the best places to eat in Brighton, we went to Casalingo. What an absolute gem. The service is warm, friendly and the right mix of suggestive and helpful. The menu forced us to have a four course meal, and we were not disappointed. The first course was very yummy; light, fresh and just what we needed. Our second, was amazing; gnocchi
with pancetta, gorgonzola, pecorino and parmesan. It was as good as anywhere we have eaten in Italy. Our main course was fantastic, with the sauces complimenting the veal perfectly. Desert was a perfect end to a perfect meal. We mentioned that it was our anniversary, and they gave us a drink to celebrate. A very classy place indeed.
There are 15 or so tables, and it was full with people coming in all night. The atmosphere was buzzing all night just like a small traverna in Italy itself. I suggest booking in advance so not to be disappointed.
As we left, we walked up Preston Road, and there wasnt a single restaurant that had more than half the tables full.
Cassalingo was an honest, full, tasty and wonderfully 'noisy in an italian way' restaurant that was a treat to visit. When we come back to Brighton, we WILL being going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were really looking forward to a lovely meal at Casalingo and the food was fine. However, they have put too many tables in, so you are sharing your neighbours conversation!. Also if you are going to have the maximum numbers of covers you need to have more staff. When we weren't able to order our drinks immediately we were given the menu we were then ignored for 10 minutes. Food good but service means we will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“food to die for,sevice great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

me and the wife went on a tuesday night, great friendly helpfull sevice,no rush, just take your time asked if we would like a break between courses, good variety or food and wines, a pudding of home made tiramisu too die for i mean to die for, the meal was absolutely fabulious, everything about restaurant,staff, and food excellent, would eat there every day, not too expensive either 2 starters//mains,bottle of larger,bottle of wine plus 1 pudding to share(too full after such a good meal to eat one each) 64 quid, a must visit if you like or even if you dont like italian

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this place , great food and lovely service . Our wine was changed without question ( not to our taste not off ) everything was delicious and perfectly cooked. Try the tiramisu - one of the best we have eaten. Easily our best restaurant experience in Brighton !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casalingo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Casalingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing