We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas”
Review of Casa Don Carlos

Casa Don Carlos
Ranked #33 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $55
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
West Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have passed this restaurant many times walking through the lanes but finally popped in for dinner. The food choice was great with a fantastic specials menu. (stuffed peppers with crab and prawn were amazing)
It was raining and freezing cold outside but within minutes I felt like I was on holiday somewhere in Spain!
A must try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    266
    77
    49
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Put it on the list”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Loved this place. Great choice of Tapas and also at a decent quality. V busy and extremely popular and for good reason. We stumbled across this place on our last visit but looked like it had a great atmosphere and luckily they managed to fit us in. Recommend you book a table!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent night out.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I read the reviews and was a little concerned about a recent experience recorded, but my partner really wanted me to give it a try. I have to say I was not disappointed, it was very busy and I now know why, food was great atmosphere very good not surprised getting a table can be difficult if you leave it too late.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
“just not the same”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Being locals we have been here a few times, always enjoyed it. This afternoon we were passing so thought we'd pop in. Service is excellent as ever accommodating us within ten minutes. Sadly we were disappointed by the food. It was really bland, microwaved to reheat and without any of the usual flavourings. No garlic in any of it, the house special was over creamed, frozen tiny prawns and tasteless overcooked peppers. I really hope they return to form and not join the endless collection of utterly mediocre restaurants that clutter our city. The pubs have raised their game to haute cuisines levels and are the best places to eat in Brighton. Shame the restaurant s let us down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield , sx England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I Just Must Say This!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I and my other half have been there before, Last time it was terrific, this time I took some friends there, and I must say ,they out did themselves! Just such a combination of great food, wine and banter! Waiters/waitress, as one is served by many, are attentive , efficient and helpful , I shouldn't write this really, I should have kept it all to my self ! see you next week !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Don Carlos also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing