We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure to eat here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Don Carlos

Casa Don Carlos
Ranked #36 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I haven't been to the restaurant in a while, and I really don't know why!

A group of us ate tonight and from the welcome to the goodbye we could not have felt anymore looked after.

The staff are very attentive, very friendly, very knowledgable about the dishes, taking time to explain, in detail if needed, what is in the dishes. The dishes were served in a very timely manner and you never felt as though dishes were being pushed at you.

The food was delicious and the portions are ample. You will not leave hungry!

Overall a great experience at a very affordable price for the quality you receive.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALandOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    252
    73
    49
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tapas place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely tasty food at a great location, place is always packed but if they know you they will try to accomodate you, plenty of options in the menu and very good prices, i would love to see day specials to spicey things up a bit and keep customers coming back for more

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Superfly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I came to Brighton for a few days and had read the reviews on here for Casa Don Carlos. Walking into the restaurant on a busy lunchtime to book for an evening meal, the food smelt amazing! Arriving on a Tuesday night, we were glad we booked, as it was very busy, but only added to the atmosphere. Staff were very helpful in informing us how many dishes to order and recommended some to try, one of the specials was truly amazing! The tapas portions were huge and the food arrived quickly even though the restaurant was very busy. My boyfriend and I struggled to finish all the food, not something that happens often especially with tapas, as many places serve such small portions! As a fussy eater, tapas is not my favourite food, however now I have eaten here, I really recommend to people who have not tried tapas to dine here, as you will find many dishes suitable for vegetarians and to fussy eaters like myself! Staff were friendly, efficient and ensured we had drinks through out the meal and bought the bill promptly when asked, as this is one thing I hate when going out for a meal if the waiter takes longer to bring the bill than to serve the food! I definitely will seek to eat here if visiting Brighton again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

A small place but full of noise and chat. Lovely food if you like tapas and we do. We kept on ordering until we were told we probably had enough! Portion sizes were very good and the food was very tasty. The lamb special was particularly good. The wine was very good. Deserves it rep.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very authentic Spanish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Absolutely brilliant quaint little Spanish restaurant with a typically Hispanic vibrant atmosphere. Food is comfortably superior most Tapas places and not outrageously priced (£5-£6 per dish) and the staff (all Spanish) are very friendly. All in all, no downsides (as long as you accept small tables and chairs are part of Spanish culture!), and added bonus of being right opposite Font bar, depending on which way you're inclined :-).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Don Carlos also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing