We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Indian Summer

Indian Summer
Ranked #29 of 1,139 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $90
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: North Street
Description: Situated in the bustling lanes, snuggled between terre a terre and toni and guy. A beautiful victorian building with high ceilings and original features. Adorned with indian street images and candlelit walls, you are sure to enjoy your experience here
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

After wanting to go for a meal somewhere different we thought we would try indian summer. We were not disappointed. The service was quick and very friendly. The food was amazing. I would gladly never have a normal curry again. The price was very reasonable we had 3 courses and all had amazing flavours. Highly recomemd and will definitely return again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubblecas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    217
    72
    30
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Absolutely love this place. The menus are set prices, are very reasonable and are full of interesting dishes. The service is second to none, with an 'amuse bouche' before you eat and a cleansing sorbet between meals. The atmosphere is also lovely, candle lit but not too dark, and great decor. 10 out of 10

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank robberyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best dhal I ever tasted.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been to a lot of places and eaten a lot of stuff. This is the best curry I have ever had. The presentation was quirky, unique, delicious and all at a reasonable price. Don't miss it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaseandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visiting Indian Summer for the first time in years, four of us went in for a 9PM sitting on Saturday.
It started well, with water being delivered to us immediately (and kept topped up all night as well, which is a pleasant surprise compared to some places), and we all took a look over the menus.
Indian Summer is not your normal curry house, you probably won't recognise anything from the menu as a standard English curry, but that's part of why you go there.
We were surprised to be delivered an amuse bouche, which was a deliciously spicy soup, and a palate cleanser between starters and mains!
We mostly had starters as well as mains, and tried three different mains between the four of us.
I had a marinated chicken portion, which was very moist and tasty, and the others had a pork belly vindaloo or a fiery lamb curry, all of which went down very well.
Service was excellent, with special mention to Pat and Tim, who looked after us very well and helped make the visit even nicer.
I'd forgotten how good this place was, we'll definitely be visiting again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, friendly service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked Indian Summer to eat at while visiting Brighton during the comedy festival. I am glad we booked as a number of people came in and were turned away for spot tables.

The menu is not like an ordinary Indian restaurant. It uses a set meal wityh a two or three course option, which makes budgeting a lot easier! There are many dishes to choose from, some of which are different to the run of the mill choices. The food is freshly prepared and wonderfully cooked. Also, unlike usual Asian restaurants, the desserts were gorgeous!!

The service was great from the moment we sat down, although no-one offered to take my coat which meant I was a little restricted with space at our table. This wasn't a problem for me. The manager and waiters were all polite and helpful. The portfolio of the restaurant staff also made for interesting reading while we waited for food.

I would definitely go back if I were in Brighton again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelembee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Summer also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Indian Summer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing