We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch meal”
Review of Food for Friends

Food for Friends
Ranked #15 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Voted 'Best Restaurant' in the Brighton Foodie Awards 2012Good food Guide 2013Food for Friends restaurant in Brighton has been in the vanguard of vegetarian cuisine for more than twenty five years. Set in The Lanes, Brighton’s most happening district, Food for Friends has slowly spread over three shop fronts, developing a labyrinth of brightly lit, modern dining rooms kitted out with stylish minimalism, some overlooking the bustling lanes outside. Cuisine from around the globe is created using predominantly local, organic ingredients, some delivered by bike. Vegans and those with food allergies and intolerances are well cared for here. Wines are organic and mainly vegan, coffee is fairtrade, and an irresistible afternoon tea is served.
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top notch meal”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had booked a table and were pleased to have made a reservation as the restaurant was busy early evening on a Tuesday. The service was polite, relaxed and attentive, in an unhurried and calm atmosphere. The menu was not extensive and I would have liked a little more choice. However, the meal was delicious, well presented and filling. The portions are not huge but the food is satisfying and we left feeling comfortably full with warm reflections of the well prepared three courses. The wine, which we chose by the glass, was complimentary to the meal without any harsh bite or aftertaste. There are lots of vegetarian cafes but few vegetarian restaurants and certainly few to compare to this.We will definitely visit again on our next trip to Brighton.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,151
    562
    181
    66
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Vegetarian meal out by far”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Been meaning to go to Food For Friends for ages after using the book at home, really glad we booked in advance as in just the few minutes we awaited are table a number of people had to be turned away, looking really disappointed we realised why later!. The service is natural and caring the food is beautiful, tasty and has a real sense that it has been created with love and attention.
Left feeling very satisfied will definitely be back, thank you

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrahamRobinson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Divine Food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were wet through and freezing when we happened upon Food For Friends. Immediately we were warmed by the lovely welcome and shown to our table. The restaurant was quite full for a Sunday night and there was live singing which all added to the atmosphere. The menu was not huge but varied enough for there to be a hard decision about what to eat. We finally decided to share the goats cheese terrine (but wished we had one each when we tasted it!) and then I had the portobello mushrooms whilst my partner had the sweet potato and aubergine curry. Each were so delicious that we decided to swap half-way through so that we could share in the experience. .
Altogether this was a marvelous eating experience and I so wish that it was nearer to home. We shall be definitely be visiting again next time we are in Brighton.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prune941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Four of us enjoyed EVERY single morsel that passed our lips. We aren't vegetarian but wanted to try this place. The whole experience was perfect. Can't wait to return to try more dishes!!! Thankyou.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIMPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, efficient service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This place really is worth eating out at. Central Brighton location. Friendly efficient staff. The food well presented and with great flavours and Huuuge portions. We started with some great freshly baked bread, crispy tofu and a smoked tofu pocket with brown rice. The double baked goats cheese souffle was light and cooked to perfection. The sweet potato curry mild in flavour but plentiful. Served with rice poppadum and tarka dahl. Finished with a chocolate platter to share..... The chocolate tea was a disappointment but the other components perfect.

Highly recommend this place. We are not vegetarians but it made a change to enjoy a different meal experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vitakix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food for Friends also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Food for Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing