We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai !”

Sawadee Thai Restaurant
Ranked #112 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai !”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have not eaten in Sawadee for several years but it never fails to disappoint. We stuck to a main dish each with rice, Thai red curry with tofu and stir fried chicken with garlic and black pepper. Both dishes were delicious and ample. The thing we noticed most was the number of locals who clearly ate here regularly and came back time and time again.
I absolutely would recommend Sawadee if you want fresh Thai food which is good value for money

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeacefulWarrior67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    155
    58
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beware of the set menu”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

made the mistake of ordering one of the set menus. The food was nothing to write home about and could have been from anywhere with a bit of spice in it. It felt like a tourist trap and I felt stupid for having fallen into it. After a very mediocre meal to say the least, plus a bottle cider and water the bill added upto £40.75 which compared to the other places we went to was by far the most expensive and the least enjoyable. Would not reccommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arianna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawadeeThai, Owner at Sawadee Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Arianna J,

Firstly we are sorry you did not find our Set Meals very good value for money. You say you had Set Menus, a bottle of cider, a bottle of water and that your bill was £40.75 for two people, so that’s £20.37 per person including drinks.

The menus below list all of the dishes that are served for our Set Menus:
Set Menu A @ £17.95 per person
Prawn crackers with dipping sauce, 4 skewers of grilled marinated chicken breast with satay sauce, tiger prawns and seasonal vegetables cooked in tempura batter, chicken in masaman curry with potatoes and peanuts, sliced roast duck stir fried with chillis onions and thai basil, a portion of stir fried fresh mixed vegetables, with two portions of steamed jasmine rice

Set Menu B @ £15.95 per person
Prawn crackers with dipping sauce, 4 skewers of grilled marinated chicken breast with satay sauce, seasonal vegetables cooked in tempura batter, chicken in thai green curry with bamboo shoots in coconut milk, pork stir fried with sweet thai basil onions and red chillis, a portion of stir fried fresh mixed vegetables, with two portions of steamed jasmine rice

What you each had was a two course meal plus the pre-starter.

For a quality hand-made product we believe our Set Menus to offer very good value. Your comment that we were “by far the most expensive” of the restaurants you reviewed on 26 July is simply untrue.

At another local restaurant you only had “2 main courses and a bottle of sparkling water for a total of £35”. If you’d had 2 starters and a pre-starter as well for a truly comparable bill it would have been approx £48.00 at that establishment. At another restaurant a 2 course meal with drinks would have been well over £50.

It may well have been your mistake to order Set Menus if you only wanted a mains and water, but please consider that a lot of care goes into preparing, cooking and serving this food in our family-run restaurant and to make untrue statements is unfair. A typical tourist trap fixed price menu will offer a small portion of a starter and a cheap main course. We do neither. Four skewers of chicken in the satay for instance and standard portions for stir fries and curries, all cooked to your individual order. Our Set Menus are designed to create a balance of flavours and textures, in typical Thai style, not really as a cheap option, and perhaps you misunderstood this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

No complaints at all. Staff really friendly and welcoming. Food was top quality and delicious and no complaints of the service. Live music created a lovely atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Utterly tasty , best Thai cooking for miles around”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff are polite and efficient, the menu compact and clear, the food surprisingly good value , tasty yummy Thai

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GayleDReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We made a reservation after being recommended by our hotel and seeing good reviews on here. From start to finish, it was such a bad experience.

The restaurant was so hot that we had to ask to be moved into the front area near the bar which wasn't particularly nice as we were right next to the bar on the end of someone else's table. If it hadn't been so late we would have gone elsewhere. Whilst there, the party next to us complained as they had finished starters 45 minutes before. Our experience was not much better. A couple also came in for a take away and after waiting for over half an hour after ordering, asked for a refund and left empty-handed (and hungry!!)

The food was quite nice but clearly included frozen vegetables and they brought us a wrong dish. They then took it all away again and returned it 5-10 minutes later.

Really disappointed and a really physically uncomfortable experience for my parter in particular with the heat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinker504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawadee Thai Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sawadee Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing