We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, decent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai Kika Moo Kau

Wai Kika Moo Kau
Ranked #86 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely food, decent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We treated ourselves to breakfast here. The full veggie breakfast was lovely, and my dairy-free daughter absolutely loved the pancakes and maple syrup (something she can't usually eat elsewhere). It's a friendly place, too. If we visit Brighton again we would definitely go back here for breakfast!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UkMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    105
    26
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch, worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for late lunch and had the mezze platter. Great value with friendly staff and a chilled out atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetjones101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A favourite cafe of mine ruined by appalling service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been a regular of Wai Kika Moo Kau for some time - it was one of my favourite cafés in Brighton. But after today, and the service we received, I can't imagine ever going back.

A member of my party quizzed the waitress on an item on our bill and said that the additional salad that came with the meal was quite overpriced, She immediately became very hostile and angry and tried to push us into speaking to the manager, which we hadn't considered doing over such a small matter. We would have left it there except that we could hear her talking about us to the staff and shooting looks at us for a good 5 minutes while we remained at the table.

We decided to go and speak to her and/or the manager and she defended the menu prices to us again. I told her that the salad really wasn't the issue, it was the fact that she seemed very rude when she spoke to us. This set her off big time, and she immediately denied being hostile and accused us instead. She then turned away from us and implied she didn't care because after we left we would no longer be a problem for her.

On the way out, I managed to catch the manager and told him what had happened. He was very apologetic and polite but unfortunately it was not enough to undo the treatment we had received from the waitress.

My friends and I are polite, rational and pretty self-aware people! We were shocked to be treated this way by a person whose job it is to provide customer service, and even more to be blamed for hostile behaviour ourselves.

The shame of this is that I can no longer visit my favourite vegetarian restaurant! I don't feel they deserve my custom any more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OMG. HOW RUDE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just literally walked away from this restaurant & had to write a review whilst I was still angry.

I have been coming to this restaurant for years for breakfast or lunch with my two dogs. We normally sit inside but sometimes outside.

Today, due to the heat, we decided to sit inside for a late lunch.

As soon as we walked in We were pounced on by two members of staff who were quite aggressive in their manner stating "No Dogs inside".

To our amazement we replied that we had been coming in here for a long time with the dogs. The girl's response was "I've been working here for years & we have always had a 'no dog' policy." She was, in fact, calling us a liars.

Eventually the other member of staff said it wouldn't hurt for us to sit inside however she maintained we sat outside in the blistering heat with no shade.

Obviously, we weren't prepared to spend any of our hard-earned cash to a business that was being so unreasonable & rude to us. So we left, never to return.

Ironically, this is a vegetarian restaurant & she insisted that we sit out in the sun with no shade with our dogs. That's animal welfare for you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had the mini all day breakfast , when it came I thought they had given me the full breakfast by mistake, I had to ask to be sure .£3.50 , it was excellent value. would definitely visit again and sample more of the menu , the salted caramel latte sounded delicious but I was too full from my mini breakfast Next time! Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wai Kika Moo Kau also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Wai Kika Moo Kau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing