We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of China Garden

China Garden
Ranked #55 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bolton lancashire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been visiting Brighton once or twice a year for the last 6 years and always go to this chinese . Really wish we had somewhere as nice closer to home(Bolton,Lancashire).
The manageress recognised us on this last visit even though we had not been for over 12 months which was lovely.
As usual the food was scrummy ,served quickly and politely . My only issue is the service charge which is automatically added to the bill , i just do not agree with this or the whole "tipping" culture .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8966deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    170
    37
    14
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a fantastic meal on our first night in Brighton away from the kids. Lovely staff, very reasonable prices and quality of food was stunning! Highly recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dax1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Faultless and fabulous!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Four of us went here for an early evening supper. Great experience from the warm welcome upon arriving, prompt service and delicious food. Ample portions reasonably priced. I will definitely be back!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melfromhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Six of us went and had the A2 set menu, mixed hot starters, crispy duck and a selection of mains. It was all delicious and the right amount. The staff were great and friendly.

We had a group of four yobs who had apparently been on the marathon earlier bellowing drunkenly on the adjoining table. The waiter gently asked them to turn it down a bit and suggested they stop drinking. She dealt with the situation very politely and with great restraint given the offensiveness of these louts and eventually persuaded them to leave. All credit to her.

Those idiots aside, The China Garden had a nice ambience, decor and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pommie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best chinese”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Brighton doesnt have many sit down chinese restaurants but loads of take away places. My first visit to china garden deffinetly gave a good impression. Extremely fast service, great chinese food, nice portions and a friendly atmosphere. Well worth breaking the take away habit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Garden also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to China Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing