We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This ain't "haute cuisine", BUT, if you're hungry, it's the place to go for a tenner”
Review of Fat Leo - CLOSED

Fat Leo
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This ain't "haute cuisine", BUT, if you're hungry, it's the place to go for a tenner”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Three courses for a tenner? (or just under?) Of all the cheaper places to go for a nosh, this place is streets ahead of the Pizza chains. And the Montepulciano at £12/btl compliments it well. Why eat at a burger place, or Pizza chain, when you can eat at a restaurant in the centre of town?
Go for the three courses, it's worth it. Antipasta, pizza (autentic) and an ice cream thing, with a bottle of half decent plonk, and two of you can stagger out of there for under £35. You can't get that in many places in Brighton any more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PiersBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    85
    38
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, even better prices”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner with a friend, and had no idea what to expect, but was was definitely happy with the meal and service.

We took advantage of they're 3 course meal offer, which was available even on a Saturday and the food was exceptional.

The service was great, and we didn't feel as if we were rushed with our meal or ignored.

I would definitely recommend this place to a friend, and would say to definitely go for one of their set meal options, it's such great value!

Oh and the mussels as a starter are amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food with amazing value”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went back to this restaurant for the second time for their great value of two course meal. There are a wide variety of starters and mains to choose from and we both love their mussels and calamari.
The service was fast and we got our meal within a reasonable time despite the fact that the restaurant is always pack.

Would recommend this restaurant for people who's looking for good food with a great price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieShee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good value 2 course meal, good location friendly atmosphere speedy service. Good for families kids wont get bored and not to cramped inside

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing value, great food.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Never had a bad meal or experience at Fat Leo (although avoid such restaurants on a Friday / Saturday night when hen / stag parties are out in force). Last time we went I had moules, ham and mushroom pizza and tiramisu, husband had bruschetta, spicy pizza and chocolate cake. Staff were more than happy to provide a glass of water, spare plate and crayons and colouring book for our daughter. I also noticed that all the pages in the colouring book that had been coloured in had been removed, which we found very commendable as in some establishments it takes ages leafing through colouring books to find an empty page. The food was great, hubby had bruschetta as it was something he had not tried before - he was converted :) as mentioned before, staff v attentive. We know had soft drinks as it was lunchtime and we were with our daughter, but they were very pleasant. Top notch!
Hopefully going there for a meal tonight actually!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCoates71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Leo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing