We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Leo - CLOSED

Fat Leo
Price range: $7 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Redhill, Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited the family in Brighton with a view to lunching. We have been here before and the price is very reasonable. The restaurant was not overly busy and the staff remained attentive without being obtrusive.
The one under 9 was not particularly catered for with just small margarita pizza/spagbol being available. A special juniors menu would be good. Some of the original starters have disappeared from the 2/3 starter and pasta deal. Due probably to maintaining the cost at £7.50 for 2 courses and £9.50 for 3.
The service was quick and friendly and everybody enjoyed the food. Drinks are expensive. £6 for 660ml beer and wine at £4 for a small glass. Always worth a visit if on a budget just don't drink too much. Enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    85
    38
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

nice setting in lanes, cheap tasty food. staff no very attentive. we sat outside and felt like we had been forgotten about.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank manz976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I wandered around looking for a place to eat and hadn't eaten at Fat Leo's before. The wife noticed a lot of people eating mussels and wanted to try them, so around mid -afternoon we settled on Leo's and were seated near the front of the restaurant.

Their two and three course deals are pretty good - 2 courses for £7.50 or 3 for £9.50! We had the cozze alla diavola, mussels in a delicious sauce. It went a little downhill from there though, as we had to wait a long time before the starter was taken away and the main arrived. Our main courses were OK but nothing spectacular. We had another long wait after the main (and the guy forgot to ask us what we wanted for desert, so had to remind him we were yet to order it) and it really wasn't worth waiting for. The cheesecake was rather bland and the 'home made' tiramisu rather flat and tasteless. Not much of a pick-me-up, what a shame :(

Maybe the restaurant was just understaffed or something on the day and at the time (the wife called them 'useless' but maybe that's a bit harsh). Pleasant staff, nice place, but after a great starter, OK main and disappointing dessert coupled with long waiting times made for an average dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank optifree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimbledon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where to eat in Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fat Leo's is fantastic. So cheap, you would not believe the 2 course meal you get for 7.95. Very nice staff, always helpful and excellent service. Problem is everytime we visit Brighton we chose no other restaurant than Fat Leo's as the food is excellent and extremely cheap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staff couldn't care less.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went to have a cheapy lunch menu round about 4pm, got sat by a young girl who dropped of some menus and then left us sitting outside for 15min while she stood at the bar looking over and then engaging back into her own chat!

Me and my friend left and popped round the corner.

You get what you pay for, or in my case what you never got the chance to pay for!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VykkyeCupcakeKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Leo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing