We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location, will return!!”
Review of Pinocchio

Pinocchio
Ranked #107 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $31 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and location, will return!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I ate here during a week off when on a day trip to Brighton on the recommendation of my boyfriends Dad.

And it did not dissapoint! We had the 2 course lunch special for £7.99 choosing starter and main. Two of us had the prawn cocktail and one had the garlic mushrooms and though the prawns were nice the mushrooms were amazing! You got a plate full and they were cooked just right with lots of garlic. I then had pasta for main which was cooked well for me, I do like it al dente and the sauce was very flavoursome. However when I go back I will definately have the pizza. I tried a bit and it was just thin enough with lovely toppings, the only problem will be deciding what one to have!

The only thing is, as with most Italian places, the drinks were a little pricey and they do add 10% service charge to the bill.

This is a central location and the lunch offer can't be beat for the quality of the food. Will definately go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Pinocchio, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for the lovely 5-star review Clare - much appreciated. Also, please pass on our thanks to your boyfriend's Dad - clearly a man of exceptional taste!
The 2-course special at £7.95 offers excellent value for money and is, as you can imagine, one of the most popular choices on the menu - Our amazing pizzas are included in that deal, so get yourself back to Brighton soon and try one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    199
    78
    28
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Popped in for a pizza with friends. Pizza was nice, thin but not too thin like a soggy thin pizza(i really don`t like that)...a right size.Stuff is really kind and friendly.Value is great for the place where they are.House rosè was average good. Will return

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Pinocchio, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Cristian - thanks for choosing Pinocchio - glad to hear you enjoyed the pizza. Unsurprisingly, pizza is one of the most popular choices on the menu and our talented chefs make some of the best pizza in Brighton. Glad you enjoyed the Rosé too - we've recently revamped our wine list with some outstanding new wines from all over Italy - come back soon and try another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Much Better than Donatello's”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Although owned by the same people and granted there are much better Italian's in Brighton, this place is much better than Donatello's. So, if you want something quick but a bit more intimate, friendly and I think better food - this is the place to go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank brightonrob32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Pinocchio, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for the nice review, brightonrob - we very much appreciate our guests taking the time to recommend us online.
Pinocchio is, as you say, part of the Donatello group along with FatLEO and Street Thai, however Pinocchio is the oldest Italian in Brighton - serving delicious Italian food for going on 40 years. Whilst we love all our restaurants, we certainly cannot argue that Pinocchio is a little more intimate - it is much smaller than Donatello and because of that, it doesn't get quite as lively. We hope to see you back at Pinocchio again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Have a great meal whilst watching the world go by!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

En route home having spent a couple of days in Hampshire, my wife and I diverted to Brighton on the Saturday morning. Arriving early enough to park in the Lanes Car Park, we spent an enjoyable couple of hours browsing the shops and then decided to get some lunch. Finding ourselves in New Road, we came upon Pinoccchio and were attracted by the chance to eat outside. We were quickly found a table for two and went on to have a very pleasant meal. Service was excellent despite the restaurant, inside and out, being very busy. The atmosphere was magical, enhanced by the cosmopolitan nature of the crowds passing by. Despite it being a very warm, sunny day, the large gazebo provided adequate cover and the experience was simply wonderful. Add it to your must visit list of restaurants.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug_T580427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Pinocchio, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Doug - Thanks ever so much for the lovely review - we appreciate the feedback. We couldn't agree more with your comments. Brighton is a wonderful place, filled with wonderful characters and a lunchtime spent enjoying our delicious Italian food in the sunshine, idly watching the world go by is a lovely experience. Come back and say hello next time you're in Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff are always very friendly and the menu is very varied. The set meals are veery good value for money. Take your appetite with you as the portions can be very big!! So handy for the Theatre.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Pinocchio, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
You're spot on there, Cheryl - we couldn't agree more. Our 2-course special is an extremely popular option - representing incredible value at £7.95. Our portion sizes are hearty and for the very hungry we can do an extra large version of any pasta dish for just £2 extra.
We are just a stones throw from Brighton Theatre Royal and our offer of 10% off the bill on production of a Theatre Royal ticket, makes us exceptionally popular for pre and post-show dining. Thanks for the review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pinocchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing