We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Evening Meal”
Review of Donatello

Donatello
Ranked #89 of 1,176 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I don't agree with many recent reports who have not been happy with this restaurant. It was a fun place and a typical Italian Pizzeria & Restaurant. We had booked and unless you want to queue you'd be well advised to. The service was good and friendly and there were many special offers included in the fixed price menus. A la carte choices too were available. The drinks were ordered and arrived promptly. We had parma ham and melon, cheesy garlic bread, mussels & tricolore salad (tomatoes avocado and buffalo mozzarella cheese) for starters all of which were excellent. These were followed by various chicken dishes (some were more tasty than others) and veal with parma ham in a white wine sauce. These were served with a side of mixed vegetables including roast peppers zucchini & onions. The desserts were various ice cream dishes and an apple tart with vanilla ice cream. Portions were generous and all in all good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavPet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thanks for the review DavPet_10 - we really appreciate the feedback. As it goes, we don't agree with a few reviews that end up on here. In fact, some are not even about the right restaurant and some have clearly been left for nefarious reasons (possibly by competitors etc). That said, we're not perfect - we value all feedback good and bad and we try to listen to our customers and deliver what they want. That's why we continue to offer our 2-course specials at the bargain price of just £7.95pp - it's an extremely popular option. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you visit Donatello again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,452 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

I couldn't believe how many people were in this restaurant for dinner at 8pm on a Saturday night. It was two floors full of people. As a result the waiting staff were run off their feet. It took a long time to be able to order food, get drinks, get cutlery etc. It didn't help that we were impatient to eat and were thirsty from being at a cocktail making class and been walking around Brighton for hours.
It was ok and the food was fine but it lacked any kind of service. I would try somewhere else next time I'm in Brighton.

Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went to Donatello on Sunday 27th July it was extremely busy but the food and service was wonderful will definitely be retuning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gino D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Hi Gino - That's what we like to hear! We love the buzz on a busy evening too - it really is a special atmosphere. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit - thanks for the feedback. See you soon, no doubt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

A truly authentic Italian restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating in a lovely spot in the lanes of Brighton. Food is tasty and well priced with set menus and a wide variety. Definitely worth a visit to this little gem :)

Thank nickychargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Donatello, nickychargreaves - always great to see such positive feedback. Our outdoor sun terrace that you mention is a popular spot in summer months to enjoy a light lunch, glass of fizz and watch the world go by in Brighton Lanes. We hope you'll visit again next time you're in Brighton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had to wait 45 minutes to be served at lunchtime, which for me is unacceptable as we had to bolt our lunch in order to be back in time for a meeting. The mushrooms and pizza were tasty however. The waitress was offhand and had a bad manner. Cheer up!

Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thanks for the review, Melanie - we appreciate all feedback, whether good, bad or indifferent. We're very sorry you had such a long wait - this is an extremely unusual occurrence as our staff are trained and experienced to give excellent service especially when the restaurant is busy - which it frequently is at peak times. I feel sure that if you had mentioned your circumstances to the duty house manager something could have been done to speed things up. We're glad you enjoyed the food - please come and give us another try next time you're in Brighton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donatello also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing