We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun birthday!”
Review of Moshimo

Moshimo
Ranked #166 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun birthday!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I usually just pop in here for lunch at the bar/conveyor belt but my other half booked it for a birthday with friends. What a fantastic choice for dinner. It was fun, interesting and the service was great with the waiters recommending some great dishes. Would def go back for an occasion again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weekendtraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    179
    87
    67
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Flower of Japan”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was only our second attempt at sushi and what an experience; food that we enjoyed with friendly and helpful staff. We had a "Fastnet" and a "Rockall" platers which helped our education of the food and flavours which you have to try to appreciate. Please stretch to a pudding and try the Tempura ice cream - what can I say just memorable. We will return next visit to Brighton. In fact a visit would be justified just for lunch at this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must try in Brighton!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Moshimo is one of my favourite places to eat especially on a Monday or a Tuesday where food is 50% off ( with a membership card.) it's the best time to try out all kinds of plates as on standard days the bill can easily add up! I would recommend going lunch time as the evening can get very busy. The food is always high quality and I thoroughly enjoy each visit. The Chicken Katsu Curry and the chilli squid are a must try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2016_JPJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
571 reviews
434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“nice inside”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I liked what they've done with the box in the square. Warm and good atmosphere. The sushi is OK, but only OK. Service friendly, although we got the wrong wine and one order didn't turn up at all. They could do with a proper sushi menu with photos to tell you what everything is around the belt. Also prices could be made more obvious.
But after all this, it's quite a nice place to be, so you could do a lot worse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Good food but the doubled our bill price”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food was really lovely and would happily go back there again, but would make sure to make a note of every plate I pick up in-case they just make it up/ double the amounts/ mix it up with another table or whatever it was that got our bill so incredibly wrong.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tigerlily100392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing