We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gingerman

Gingerman
Ranked #8 of 1,111 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In Norfolk Square, The Gingerman Restaurant has a small, intimate dining room and a superb menu of modern British cuisine made with fresh, local produce. Full of unique character, the stylish restaurant possesses a great reputation within the city. With intimate lighting and simple wooden furnishings, this Brighton eatery has a warm, cosy ambience. The delicious dishes from the seasonal gourmet menu include slow roasted pork belly with creamy mash, cumin spiced lamb rack with black cardamom puree and coconut chutney or pig cheek ravioli with saffron jus. A classy list of wines and premium champagnes will complement your meal. Gingerman restaurant offers smart, unpretentious dining in vibrant Brighton.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The best restaurant in town, always have a great time.

Souffles are worth going for just on their own.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    111
    36
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went for lunch last week – this was our second visit. We chose from the set menu which offered two choices for each course. Once ordered we were initially presented with an amuse bouche of duck liver which we both thought was nice even though we don’t generally like liver! This was followed by some excellent bread with honey & truffle butter – lush! Between us we basically chose the entire menu – for starters; smoked potato & onion veloute/beef brisket with chargrilled leaves & blue cheese sauce, for mains; chicken leg with red lentils & yoghurt/arancini with curd cheese, peas & broad beans (spring on plate!) and for desert; strawberry jelly with clotted cream & meringue/white chocolate panna cotta with raspberries & pistachio. The whole meal was excellent & very well presented and the waiter was very attentive & there were nice gaps between each course, a very leisurely lunch! The lunch menu is also very good value at £18 for three courses – the wine was also pretty good value (for restaurants!) Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony_Toop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely evening meal - space was lovely and cosy and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere. Service was great, friendly and helpful. Food was fab as was the wine. Thanks for a lovely evening

Helpful?
Thank HelenaMarieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Suberb lunch”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Dined here today for lunch. An excellent well presented meal down the fine dining end and attentive staff. The lunch menu was very good value. All that spoilt it for us was a very loud woman on the next table but that's not the fault of the restaurant!
The Gingerman is tucked away nearer to Hove but worth finding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamelaHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a very small restaurant with a very good food. I really enjoyed our evening . The waiter wasn't very friendly first because ,we think , my husband were very casually dressed ( he didn't take any fancy evening clothes as we went for a weekend only) but then he was ok. The food was good apart from a starter that I wasn't sure about - combination of flavours didn't work for me - foie gras and chips... The bread with truffle butter was amazing and the beef was superb. I would recommend this place.
And to add, the price for value is very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaTripzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerman also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Gingerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing