We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best dining experiences!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gingerman

Gingerman
Ranked #8 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In Norfolk Square, The Gingerman Restaurant has a small, intimate dining room and a superb menu of modern British cuisine made with fresh, local produce. Full of unique character, the stylish restaurant possesses a great reputation within the city. With intimate lighting and simple wooden furnishings, this Brighton eatery has a warm, cosy ambience. The delicious dishes from the seasonal gourmet menu include slow roasted pork belly with creamy mash, cumin spiced lamb rack with black cardamom puree and coconut chutney or pig cheek ravioli with saffron jus. A classy list of wines and premium champagnes will complement your meal. Gingerman restaurant offers smart, unpretentious dining in vibrant Brighton.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went to this restaurant for my birthday. It was the first time and I always heard a lot of good things about it.... But oh my god I was not expecting it to be so amazing! Everything from the appetizer to the dessert was simply one of the best meals I have ever had! All the flavors of each dish were beautifully put together giving you an explosion of happiness and amazing sensations that blew you out of the water! Service was 5 stars and the atmosphere was so classy and magical! I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Kvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    113
    36
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was excellent, there's a good wine list ranging up to the pricey but with some great lower priced ones as well, the service was attentive and the restaurant whilst fairly small (so booking probably a must) had a great atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMB51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the restaurant on special occasion place quite small and cosy but the foods was very nice desert delicious want to go back there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank star p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go for the souffle!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Gingerman on Friday evening to celebrate our anniversary. Overall I was pleased with the meal however I feel that some courses were more successful than others.

We both had the quail to start with which was served on the bone and involved a lot of manual work! I would have enjoyed it more if it had been taken off the bone and I could have just concentrated on eating the dish. My main was the sea bass which was unfortunately a little bland. The pancetta pieces added a bit of taste but I was definitely left lusting after my boyfriends piece of steak.

Thankfully the desert made up for all these issues and was truly wonderful. A huge raspberry souffle served with raspberry ripple ice-cream and vanilla custard was a fantastic was to finish the meal.

The restaurant is cosy with a nice atmosphere and the staff were friendly so I would definitely give it another go in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We hadn't booked and were a little concerned about the fixed price of £30. This is fine dining and the food is excellent as is the atmosphere though a little dark in places. We went for two courses and found that the service was really good but not oppressive and the pace of service was relaxed but not to the point of checking the watch.
Oh and they do take credit cards...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerman also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Gingerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing