We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service. Great location.”
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

A second stay and a second review.
Another gig, another overnight stay.

Upon arrival, early as it was cold and we had arrived earlier in the day and parked in the nearby London Rd multi-storey (cheaper than the adjacent station carpark) and didn't fancy carrying our bags around we were told that our room wasn't ready but that they had rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors available but they didn't want to give them to us as they like to keep the stag/hen parties on these floors. However they would check our luggage in and we could return later.

We returned later to be allocated a superior room on the 4th floor. Very nice but lacking in plug sockets near the mirror (so my wife tells me)

Had a bar meal due to time constraints and were pleasantly surprised how good it was. Would definitely eat there again.

Check out was painless using the quick drop it in the box option.

I think we'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

clean and functional at the top of the town, walk downhill to shops about 5/10 mins.beds rather hard and hotel quite clinical and soul less, breakfast ok but dining room not very comfortable or warm with hard wood chairs,obviously built for the rep/weekend trade. Ok for a weekend but wouldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hantslily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear hantslily
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was disappointed to read that you felt Jury Inn was soulless. As the second largest Hotel in Brighton, we pride ourselves on delivering great value and service to all our patrons. Our beds are of the highest quality and the level of comfort they afford our guests has been commented on in previous reviews. I’m sorry that they need not fit with your personal needs or expectations. I also apologise if you felt our restaurant chairs were not comfortable either. This is the first comment I have had in this regards and will take your comments on board.
Kind Regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed for long weekend in march first impressions of brighton when you pull into the station did not look good, looked a bit run down room clean and most important warm as weather was very cold did not eat or drink there as there plenty of places in brighton, the hotel is at the top of the main street which is a 15 minute walk from the front up a hill which was not too bad even after a night out (if you have angina do not stay here) most important it was half the price of hotels on the front which did not look very nice if you just want somewhere to lay your head then its ok if we even go again we would properbly stay here depending on the price best thing is if you are on the train its a 2 minute walk dont go out of the front entrance keep left and go out of the back entrance you dont have to cart your bags miles or get a taxi

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dgpm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear dgpm123
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was surprised to read you only rated us 3 stars considering your comments. I appreciate we are slightly further up the hill however; this location does mean we are far quieter than other Hotels in the centre of town. Our pricing policy offers great value in one of the UK’s most popular weekend destinations.
I look forward to welcoming back soon.
Regards
Damien Doyle
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Goood sized hotel right by station, Lots of up from beach.
Pros
Good reasonably sized modern room. We had a view of the station but no problem with train noise.
Good snack in bar quickly produced. Breakfast ok.
Cons
Only station car park nearby was £12 per day ie £24 overnight, Parked opposite hotel in 40 minute slot. Asked receptionist about parking mid afternoon on arrival but was told there was not a lot of alternatives. Toilet was so stiff to use my wife could not operate it even after a visit by staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel which I know very well, but have never previously stayed in, at very short notice. Given the standard of the hotel, location, and last minute booking, I still managed to achieve a decent rate, and a great choice of room.

The overall standard of service across the hotel was second to none. Clearly, the staff at this hotel are led and motivated by an excellent management team, who appear to work effortlessly to deliver excellence.

I am not known for being tactful or indeed short of things to say when it comes to giving feedback, but I can honestly find no fault at all with this hotel, and it made a difficult visit very easy, and for that alone I am very grateful. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bungle-6674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at Jurys Inn, Brighton. Becuase it was Mon - Thurs, the other guests were mainly business types, tradesman on jobs in Brighton, OAPs on coach trips and people attending training seminars being run at the hotel. We asked for a quiet room and got it on the 4th floor, facing out back. The room was very clean, basically furnished but not at all bad and perfectly good enough for a mid priced hotel. Staff were professional and the breakfast was about a 6/10, again, we didnt expect anything more for the price. Talking of prices, very reasonable rate for 3 nights, through Expedia. heating in room worked well but bed was hard and although tea / coffee supplied, not enough milk for refills etc. As commented by other reviewers, the doors do bang shut, seems to be a design fault. The hotel is located around the back of the rail station (about 5 min walk) and its about 1 mile walk to the pier, through the town. We didnt mind this as it gave us an excuse to get some exercise! However, less mobile people will find the hotel a bit out of the way perhaps? All bus routes stop at the rail station. In summary, a good hotel for the price, we would stay again and would recommend it. Re Brighton, because its basically a student / party town with lots of night life, that will attract stag / hen parties / bunches of blokes / groups of women going away together etc. As such, staying at the weekend at any time of the year probably means that it is going to be noisy in all hotels around 2am - 5am, when they all get back from their nights out. I would suggest that if you want a quiet time and good nights sleep, take your break during the week.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The best thing was the cleanliness of the room, the worst thing was the pillows, I totally agree with the previous comment about them.
On checking in we asked about parking at the station and were told to pay the daily charge which expired at 4am the next day and then pay a surcharge for additional hours at the booth the next day. This was totally incorrect. What we should have done was pay the number of hours until midnight and as we were staying all day in Brighton, paid a daily rate for the next day. We ended up paying two full day rates which cost £24, quite a bit on top of the hotel rate.
Corridors were noisy at night with hen and stag parties going on. Breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caz45Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#5 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $81 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing