We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy and inconsiderate guests.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Very noisy and inconsiderate guests.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here on the 1st May as I had an interview at the Medical School on the 2nd. The location was perfect and the room was tidy.
Unfortunately, I was unable to get any sleep at all before my interview as people were running outside my room and shouting. This was not the preparation I wanted for my interview. I brought this to the attention of the reception and was told that everyone on my floor had complained and were kept up all night. This was an appalling revelation. The noise levels were under the control of the staff, they could have asked the 'guests' to be quiet.
Overall, I would not book this hotel again. Especially if you need a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elindsay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Elindsay1
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read that your night’s sleep was disturbed by inconsiderate guests returning late at night. We have a very active security presence and unfortunately they did not address the noise level on time made by a particular group returning in the early hours. I do sincerely apologise for this and would like to make amends. If you could contact me directly on the email below, we can discuss the matter further.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    936
    343
    101
    58
See reviews for
611
642
123
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for reasonable rate through hotels.com big Buffett breakfast included. Easy to park or train but the parking is about £20 for 24hrs.

Bed and room were clean and comfortable - shame there wasn't a bath as I came straight from playing football and would have liked a soak!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ive just come back from a weekend in Brighton, i stayed in this hotel with 2 other girls. We had a great time in Brighton. The hotel was located behind the train station which we found easy.
The check in was fast and the hotel staff where helpful. Hotel room was a triple room and was nice, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel was clean and efficient and I thought it was fine until I went to bed! The pillows were like bricks. Solid foam that just didn't mould to the shape of your head. I awoke with a very stiff neck and pounding headache.
The breakfast was fine but it was lukewarm and unexciting.
I don't think I would stay here again even if it was convenient

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear kate M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read you felt our pillows were not comfortable. Our research shows that guests like a choice of both firm and medium pillows. We offer both types in our bedroom’s which is advertised on the card beside your bed. You may have overlooked this during your stay.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
227 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Location near the railway line - OK if you have to catch at train. Tried the bath and foul grey/black stuff came out of the taps. The only saving grace was the lovely manageress who personally came and tried to clean all the grot in the bathtub. This issue was resolved, but after probably two hours of my time. The hotel itself has no character, the people on reception weren't over-friendly and it seems to be a hotel for those who are on a hen weekend (or similar). Nothing stylish at all and very Essex - (I am from Essex btw! so this is not a regional/racist comment - but the worst aspect of 'Essexness'.)

You can get much nicer hotels for less and in a better location. Don't stay there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dupeyabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Jurys Inn Brighton during pride weekend last year and the only slight irritant about it is that it is a taxi journey to and from most of the clubs. However this does mean it is not as noisy as some hotels on the front. I also found during the morning when laying in I was not disturbed by the rail station which my room faced. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and the reception team were very helpful in assisting me track down a phone lost on a night out. The rooms are functional and clean and have everything you would expect of a mid range hotel, I was concerned on arrival that there was no iron for my shirts however a call to reception and there was one in my room within 5 minutes which remained there the whole weekend which saved a nightly call. To have this level of service and value during what is one of the busiest weekends of the year in Brighton was truly amazing. I am a regular visitor to Brighton and the Jurys Inn is now the first hotel I check for availability and I will have no hesitation in booking it for a large party for pride this year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellz2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent a night here in January and found the room very comfortable. It's location is ideal for exploring the town and is within easy walking distance of the lanes and the pier. Although there was some confusion when we booked in - they asked for ID when my partner went in to book the room but with me they didn't ask for any - I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Property: Jurys Inn Brighton
Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing