We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pillows like a brick!”
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Brighton
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pillows like a brick!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel was clean and efficient and I thought it was fine until I went to bed! The pillows were like bricks. Solid foam that just didn't mould to the shape of your head. I awoke with a very stiff neck and pounding headache.
The breakfast was fine but it was lukewarm and unexciting.
I don't think I would stay here again even if it was convenient

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear kate M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read you felt our pillows were not comfortable. Our research shows that guests like a choice of both firm and medium pillows. We offer both types in our bedroom’s which is advertised on the card beside your bed. You may have overlooked this during your stay.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    966
    351
    105
    62
See reviews for
631
668
128
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Location near the railway line - OK if you have to catch at train. Tried the bath and foul grey/black stuff came out of the taps. The only saving grace was the lovely manageress who personally came and tried to clean all the grot in the bathtub. This issue was resolved, but after probably two hours of my time. The hotel itself has no character, the people on reception weren't over-friendly and it seems to be a hotel for those who are on a hen weekend (or similar). Nothing stylish at all and very Essex - (I am from Essex btw! so this is not a regional/racist comment - but the worst aspect of 'Essexness'.)

You can get much nicer hotels for less and in a better location. Don't stay there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dupeyabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Jurys Inn Brighton during pride weekend last year and the only slight irritant about it is that it is a taxi journey to and from most of the clubs. However this does mean it is not as noisy as some hotels on the front. I also found during the morning when laying in I was not disturbed by the rail station which my room faced. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and the reception team were very helpful in assisting me track down a phone lost on a night out. The rooms are functional and clean and have everything you would expect of a mid range hotel, I was concerned on arrival that there was no iron for my shirts however a call to reception and there was one in my room within 5 minutes which remained there the whole weekend which saved a nightly call. To have this level of service and value during what is one of the busiest weekends of the year in Brighton was truly amazing. I am a regular visitor to Brighton and the Jurys Inn is now the first hotel I check for availability and I will have no hesitation in booking it for a large party for pride this year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellz2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent a night here in January and found the room very comfortable. It's location is ideal for exploring the town and is within easy walking distance of the lanes and the pier. Although there was some confusion when we booked in - they asked for ID when my partner went in to book the room but with me they didn't ask for any - I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Jurys Inn was fine,hotel staff good,big let down was the temperature,although I was told
it was set at 24deg I do not think the staff knows what 24deg is ,in old money that is about
75deg i doubt it was above 60deg in all public areas, and the hotel rooms,we had two evening
meals in the restaurant and on both occasions it was freezing, and to rub salt into the wound
various items were not available( due to lack of gas? ) strange answer from staff.Still would
I stay there again yes but when it is warmer and less of a drain on the gas.

R V Simpson

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear roy0214
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We did have an unfortunate incident with a gas value failing during your stay which did genuinely account for some of our restaurant items not being available. In regards to the restaurant not being warm enough during your meals, I do apologise. This is not related to the gas issue as mentioned. Please contact me at the email address below when returning to Brighton and be assured, you will be well looked after.
Kind regards
Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Check in was quick and efficient. Room was switched to a twin room without question. Room was very large, beds were very comfortable. Normal amenities were in room. We were 1 bath towel short but no big deal. There was a problem with getting chips over the weekend. Problem with gas I think. But that was explained to us once problem arose. Breakfast was very sufficent, and you could have as much as possible for £10. A lot of hens and stags ( I was part of one) staying so may only suit certain individuals. But overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morganirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this hotel as it has a great location being bang on the station and an easy walk to shops, pubs and restaurants etc. The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet, with a large single and king size. Make sure you read the instructions for the heating! The only criticism my girlfriend found was the hair drier wasn't up to scratch but she's a bit of a princess lol !! Also they serve a great breakfast buffet which sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavalar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Property: Jurys Inn Brighton
Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brighton
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#9 Business Hotel in Brighton
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for accomadation near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Room service is also available. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. The hotel features 234 spacious, comfortable bedrooms newly desinged in 2016, accommodating up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed with crisp white linen, spacious and modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. If arriving by car guests can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing