We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #10 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Tasteful, quiet (bar the seagulls!) B&B hotel in the Kempstown area of Brighton. Chris & Terry are welcoming and lovely hosts and their "full english" breakfast is to die for - quality produce cooked well. Never knew a grilled tomato could taste so good. There is an eclectic collection of art on the walls, the bed in no.5 was very comfortable with pristine linen and thoughtful touches like a proper bar of soap, shampoo provided, quality loo roll, iron/ironing board, fan etc. The hotel is within walking distance of the sea/Brighton Pier, the lanes, an 'arty' cinema (Duke of Yorks), high end shopping, the Marina and numerous restaurants.
Very good value all round. Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 645 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. The hosts could not be more helpful and friendly. Bannings is in an good location with the rooms being spotless and well presented.The breakfast was excellent and you would be hard pushed to find better.More than amble tea/coffee/biscuits/bottled water was provided daily as were clean towels. You feel the owners wanted to make your stay enjoyable & can say they did achieve this. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend to all

Room Tip: The higher the number room the more stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveeNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The breakfast at Chris & Terry in no. 14 will "kill you" - especially if you order FULL English breakfast. It is gorgeous!
We stayed in the 2.floor at the red room decorated nicely as in a movie from the late fifties - huge bed - nice room - a nice but narrow bathroom and a view over the street.
If you arrive by car - you can add an extra 8 Pound for parking on the street, but that is England -
"Pay and display"
Chris and Terry are wonderful hosts with great humor and we loved our 1 night stay at there house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Greeted on arrival and was able to choose our room. That is a hard decision as the rooms are beautifully decorated/ exceptional ensuites/ the best of quality linen. We chose a room to suit the fact that we had 30'' suitcases and hand luggage ( Australians ) Trip advisor is a bible to us travellers , as that is how I found and booked No14. With such happy hosts, the day starts on a high note of good cheer and without doubt, the best breakfasts cooked as you chat along with. For weekenders from London so close to Station and being in Kempton, close to the ''britelites'' that Brighton is so well known for. There were married couples from England staying there and we all enjoyed the warmth of mine hosts Terry and Chris. This is a place of quality....go on spoil youselves

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent...all above ground level , if you want to avoid lots of stairs , then choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianjcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found this hotel at Late rooms.com. The room was very clean, really comfy. Loved the guys running hotel, Chris and Terry, they really made us feel at home! Location of hotel was great, just down the road to the beach!! in fact it was near to all the places we wanted to visit. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! Oh, nearly forgot, the breakfast was brilliant!!!! Really first class!

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with this hotel - it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked this B & B on the strength of its previous reviews and we were not disappointed! Stayed from Sunday to Tuesday and were made to feel very welcomed!!

The room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed! Perfectly situated few minutes from the seafront and ten minutes from the pier and shops but was quiet for a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was superb but you will need a good walk after and only a light lunch! Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Found this hotel on Last Min.com, never stayed in this part of Brighton before and have to say it is lovely a quiet.
The stay itself was excellent, very clean rooms, really comfy bed.
The hosts Chris & Terry are really nice guys, friendly and cook an amazing breakfast.
I will definitely be staying there again.
Thanks chaps :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cappyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#6 of 95 in Brighton
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,733 reviews
0 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 95 in Brighton
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $129 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing