We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would happily recommend this lovely Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bannings at Number 14

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #10 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Would happily recommend this lovely Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. A birthday treat from my lovely husband. We had never visited Brighton before and could not have chosen a better introduction than to be guests of Terry and Chris. Such lovely owners, friendly, informative, interested and kind. The accommodation is so clean, our bed was very comfortable and everything was provided. Breakfast was well cooked and any request catered for. All in all a great success. We loved Brighton and any planned return will include a stay at Bannings.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room No2. A good size and facing the street but not disturbed by the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GBtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    58
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
399
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and both me and my partner were extremely pleased with our stay!

Owners were fantastic the whole way through our stay, welcoming, helpful and also cook a mean full english breakfast! Great that this is included in the price. They helped us with directions and recommended areas for specific activities.

The room & ensuite was tidy,clean, spacious and apparently we had one of the smaller rooms!

It's located 5 minutes walk to the pier and about 10 minutes to central Brighton - Ideal for weekend stays to visit the sites.

Can't recommend highly enough and would definite consider going back here if/when we go back to Brighton!

Room Tip: If you get a room that faces towards the pier front, shut your windows of an evening as the seagulls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wardy_Lawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a great great time! Stayed in room 3 which was a little small but perfect. The B&B was *very* clean and bed was SOOOO comfortable. Loads of pillows, great sheets, and the perfect height. :)

Location was great as well being just meters from the ocean. Step out and look right and there is was.

Hosts were also super nice. Helped me carry my luggage up the stairs and called cabs for us. Gave restaurant recommendations etc etc

Breakfast was also great, sausage and bacon were tasty! :)

I really cant find any fault in our stay al all. Next time I would go for the room next to room 3 as it was a bit bigger.

I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent place to stay, this is our second stay room are clean and bright little touches like fresh bottled water, every day biscuits,clean towels and the room cleaned is great. The location is very near the finish but not too far to walk to the start either. Chris and Terry were great, really helpful and welcoming. If ever we go to Brighton again we would stay at number 14.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here as I was running in the Beighton marathon. I never write reviews or even stay in B&B's however after reading reviews on here, I decided to give this a go. I am so glad I did!

This is better then any hotel room you would get in a travellodge or a premier inn and much more personal as well. Chris and Terry were excellent hosts, they were interested in you as people and have that personal treatment lacking in so many big hotels. The hotel is only a 3-4min walk from Brighton Pier, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean. The breakfast was superb and was just the right portion size too!

I honestly had no faith in B&B's before this weekend however we are now planning to come back next year. To any doubters about these reviews, please believe me when I say this is one of, if not, the best place to stay in Brighton! Thank you again for a wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HulaPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Last stayed in 2010 whilst taking in a gig at The Dome and we returned here in March for the same reason. Thanks to a postponed Amy Macdonald concert we ended up making 2 visits. This place just has everything you would want in a B and B - we are now working our way through the rooms and have now stayed in 3 of the 6! Spotlless, very comfortable rooms, great breakfasts and two wonderful hosts who helped me get over the disappointment of the postponement which happened right in the middle of the break. However, the bonus came in the shape of a quick rearrangement and being able to return to Bannings - thanks Chris and Terry.

P.s. Amy Macdonald was fantastic!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PompeyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at Bannings at number 14 (12th-14th April). We've had a perfect weekend. Our room was clean with a very comfortable bed and pillows and the location was idea for exploring Brighton. The full English breakfast was delicious- the best I have had in a long time. Terry and Chris were fantastic hosts- so genuinely friendly and helpful . I ran the marathon on Sunday and they were so kind- giving us a late check out, booking and rearranging taxis to suit my ever changing needs! To top it off they even sponsored me. Thank you Terry and Chris. We will definitely be back and would thoroughly recommend others to stay at Bannings at number 14.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#9 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Property: Bannings at Number 14
Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing