We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Amblecliff
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Brighton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Elysian Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
Maison Ville(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blanch House(Brighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lincar Hotels(Brighton)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Kempton House(Brighton)
View Hotel
Legends Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lanes Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
66
26
7
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
26
7
5
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 109 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were warmly welcomed last minute at The Amblecliff as our arrangements with another B&B fell through. It was clean, comfortable and very relaxing. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms were nicely decorated. Good accommodation in Brighton is tricky to find but I would definitely recommend this B&B and am looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I visited the Amblecliff for the second time recently. We stayed in a standard double room for 2 nights (first visit was with kids during summer 2012).

On both occasions we found Terry and Andrew to be excellent hosts. Terry especially goes the extra mile to make your visit memorable (our kids were calling her "aunty cherry" by the end of our first stay there). Andrew's breakfasts are not to be missed.

The rooms are basic, but spotless and you couldn't wish for a better location.

Would highly recommend the Amblecliff and looking forward to our next visit at Easter.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark, Meopham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed a few times in the year and having a great time we booked for new year! Once again the amblecliff didn't disappoint! Terry and Andrew are just brilliant they made us all feel so welcome and cooked a fantastic breakfast catering for everyone's needs. The rooms are very clean and we all had a great nights sleep, have already booked for February to bring our family. Thank you again terry and Andrew for such a wonderful weekend away and helping us have an excellent start to 2013!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holswoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from our third stay at the amblecliff and have to say what a wonderful weekend! Terry and Andrew are the most welcoming of hosts and made our stay special from start to finish. Fantastic breakfast with a large choice of options.

Bedroom was spotless and spacious. Tea and coffee facilities including biscuits which was an excellent touch. We ran out of shower gel and terry was more than happy to provide additional toiletries for the room.

They kindly recommended excellent restaurants to eat out - the Indian and Italian down the road are great making the amblecliff a fantastic location too.

Will most definitely be returning to the amblecliff and will be bringing our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holswoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My 'bed and breakfast' experience at the Amblecliff was less than enjoyable and I felt poorly treated by the owners. I would not recommend staying there.

I didn't mind when the owners asked us to check into the hotel by 2pm, so that they could have the afternoon to themselves. Check-in was a friendly and pleasant experience and we were informed that breakfast is from 9-10.30am. However, I was extremely disappointed to arrive for breakfast at 10.20am only to be told by the owner that she had waited for us and we were too late and we would not get any breakfast!! This was really disgraceful service given that it was still 'breakfast time' according to the information we received on check-in. The owner would not even give us some cereal. However, she did give us a tiny glass of orange juice each and then almost immediately asked us to leave the dining room as it was time to close it!

At the price I would also have expected a shower that was fully operational, but no! The shower was a tiny cold dribble which we could barely wash ourselves with and the light in the bathroom was not working.

On the positive side the sheets were clean. However, I won't be checking into the Amblecliff again any time soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller_L123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews